Skip to main content
University of Michigan Library
Ghana Emergency Medicine Collaborative
Search this Guide
Ghana Emergency Medicine Collaborative
Open access and freely available quality clinical and research information resources and tools for faculty and trainees as part of the Ghana Emergency Medicine Collaborative.
Databases and EBM
Open Access Journals
Information Resource Tutorials
Learning Videos (under construction)
Emergency Medicine Guidance App
Comprehensive information for Emergency Workers in South Africa and the developing world.
Mobile Triage App
Helps nurses to accurately and efficiently perform the South African Triage Scale.
Download instructions can be found at this link.
Information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and research from the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. An
AIDSInfo HIV/AIDS Glossary
app with terms in English & Spanish is also available.
CDC STD Tx Guide
An easy-to-use reference that helps health care providers identify and treat patients for STDs. More apps from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention can be found
Assists physicians in providing evidence-based diagnoses through the use of pre- and post-test probabilities and likelihood ratios.
IDdx:Infectious Disease Queries
Find all the symptoms associated with a disease or all the diseases associated with a symptom.
Medscape from WebMD
Contains over 80 tables and protocols, including workups, treatments, differential diagnoses, and drug interactions.
An integrated set of medical resources for licensed medical professionals only; free registration required.
National Cancer Institute
Accurate, up-to-date, comprehensive cancer information from the U.S. government's principal agency for cancer research.
Radiology 2.0: One Night in the ED
An introduction to the CT appearance of basic Emergency Room pathology. Can simulate reading CT scans at a PACS workstation. Uses stacks of CT images to teach how to approach and interpret CT scans.
Psychiatric Times Clinical Scales
Psychiatric tests, scales, and forms that help in diagnosing mental illness and assist in treatment and follow-up.
Screening for Albuminuria
Quick pocket tool to help assess & treat albuminuria in high-risk patients. Adapted from evidence-based clinical practice guidelines & recommendations from the U.S. National Kidney Foundation.
Visually validate patient diagnosis and quickly access next steps for care.
Clinical Trials Mobile
Search the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of available clinical trials worldwide.
Health Map Mobile
Provides real-time disease outbreak information; based on outbreak data of varying reliability (from news sources to curated personal accounts, to validated official alerts).
Magpi (formerly Epi Surveyor)
Easily & inexpensively create mobile data collection forms for Android, iOS, Symbian, and SMS, all without programmers or tech consultants.
Public Health News
Stay up-to-date on breaking public health news and research, plus events and activities going on around the Harvard School of Public Health.
Safe Pregnancy & Birth
A comprehensive app on pregnancy and birth, especially for low resource settings. Available for iOS & Android, in English & Spanish. From Hesperian.
Supports clinical decisions on diagnosis, treatment, or determining prognosis. From QxMD.
Analyzes arterial blood gases and provides a recommended FIO2 given a determined pO2, FIO2, and a desired pO2.
Archimedes Medical Calculator
Provides more than 130 preprogrammed formulas for specialties such as cardiology, pharmacology, & pediatrics. Registration required.
From the U.S. National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute.
Breast Cancer Risk Assessment Tool
An interactive tool to estimate a woman's risk of developing invasive breast cancer. From the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and the National Surgical Adjuvant Breast and Bowel Project (NSABP).
CliniCal, by UBM Medica
132 easy to use formulas and scoring tools for healthcare professionals that clear clinical recommendations.
Manage CVD Risk in Reduced GFR
Includes an interactive algorithm to quickly identify high-risk patients and apply evidence-based strategies to assess and treat. Content adapted from KDOQI evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from the National Kidney Foundation.
Provides access to over 20,000 structured product labels from the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
Please note: These resources are focused on US drugs and drug names.
Drug reference for download to your mobile device.
Search the Food & Drug Administration (FDA) databases for adverse events, drug safety signals, medical device adverse events, and vaccine adverse events.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Drug Information Portal
Provides descriptions, drug names, pharmaceutical categories, and structural diagrams, with information links to 19 other resources, including PubMed, LactMed, and Drugs@FDA.
Provides the major indicators for surveys - Demographic & Health Survey, AIDS Indicator Survey, & Malaria Indicator Survey - at your fingertips.
Access toxicology & environmental health databases: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®); TOXLINE®; ChemIDplus®; TOXMAP®; WISER®; & Haz-Map®
Topics on this page
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Guideline Summaries can be downloaded to hand-held devices.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Guidelines - UK
Clinical Guidelines from ACP
Instructions for use and downloading free eReader.
NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology
The standard for clinical policy in oncology. Free registration is required.
BioDigital Human Platform
Visualizes anatomy, conditions and treatments, to provide new ways to augment health care applications.
Provides a guide to blood cell morphology, with mini lectures by experts and an extensive cell image database. From CellaVision.
Provides digital serial sections of human embryos, in a multimedia format.
PubMed for Handhelds
Includes PICO search, askMEDLINE, MEDLINE/PubMed search, journal abstracts, and Disease Associations.
Mobile-friendly website that lets you search PubMed in a simple search box.
Search and browse research abstracts and full text research articles from the repository of PubMed.gov’s over 5,000+ research journals.
SciVerse Mobile Applications
Download free apps for ScienceDirect (to find and read Elsevier articles or book chapters) and for SciVerse Scopus Alerts.
Access to USAID Field Operations Guide, CIA World Factbook, and other disaster-related resources.
For medical and relief workers assisting in reuniting families after disasters.