Lusophone Africa

Base Nacional de Dados Bibliográficos is catalog of Portuguese libraries and is the largest bibliographical database in the country covering materials from the Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal and 170+ libraries. Covers close to 1,500,000 bibliographical entries.

Repository of scholarly journals in Latin America, the Caribbean Spain and Portugal. 500+ journals available online. In English, Spanish and Portuguese.

Database of laws and agreemnts between the African Portuguese-speaking countries. Registration required.

Covers a large selection of Brazilian journals and periodicals in subjects related to humanities, social sciences and natural sciences. Open Access.

AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science databases: Africana Periodical literature, African Women, Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa, Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa, and Kenya Coast.

Contains titles of monographs, journal articles and chapters from edited works held by the African Studies Centre Leiden (ASCL). Most entries include in-depth abstracts. Languages: English, French, German, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Afrikaans.

African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. Historically, scholarly information has flowed from North to South and from West to East. It has also been difficult for African researchers to access the work of other African academics. In partnership with hundreds of journals from all over the continent, AJOL works to change this, so that African-origin research output is available to Africans and to the rest of the world.

Connecting-Africa is a gateway to African research information and materials produced worldwide. It provides access to 50269 publications from 91 repositories as well as information on 1351 Africa experts (researchers, policymakers, development practitioners) and on 890 organisations (research or development-related institutes with expertise on Africa).

Indexes books, articles, dissertations and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film.
Coverage: 1925-

Historical Abstracts contains citations to articles from 2,000 journals on world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Provides links to the full text of articles appearing in key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Includes articles on Portuguese-speaking African countries.

Identifies articles, books and conference papers on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Includes articles on Portuguese-speaking African countries
Coverage: 1935-

Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Last five years are not covered by the database.

Collection of Hispanic journals with full texts. Covers current news on business, health, technology, culture and other topics. Contains articles updated as recently as July 30, 2014. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2014. Includes magazines and journals published in Brazil.