Indexing & authors' abstracts for most doctoral dissertations and some masters theses accepted each year in the United States and Canada (since 1861), plus thousands more from Great Britain and Ireland (since 1716), and selected other universities around the world (as far back as 1637). Includes full-text (in PDF) of most* dissertations submitted at University of Michigan and the 14 other CIC/Big Ten Universities since 1997.
DDM-Online contains bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory and ethnomusicology as well as in related musical, scientific and humanistic disciplines. Access: Open to all users.
International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines classified by topic. Includes citations and abstracts for articles, dissertations and more. Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
Includes over 179 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more representing the holdings of most libraries in North America and some in Europe. Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
This section of the Philharmonia Orchestra's The Sound Exchange highlights the cello. It includes information about the instrument and Philharmonia cello players demonstrating cello technique. The Sound Exchange is a site that seeks to educate people about the orchestra and its music by providing innovative educational tools for musicians, educators and students.
Professional cellist Paul Katz's online cello resource center with cello video lessons, videos of interviews and performances by prominent artists and teachers, and a central location for cello blogs by artists, teachers and students.
NDCA&F is an organization providing a network for the growing field of alternative and non-classical cello. The NDCA&F seeks to encourage interaction among non-classical cellists, promote awareness among all cellists and the musically oriented public about the contributions that cellists are making in many styles of contemporary music.
Site that searches across multiple Oxford reference resources (The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music) covering all aspects of music, including biographies, definitions of terms, musical examples, lists of works, links to audio and more. Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
Oxford Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Oxford Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Oxford Music Online is also pleased to continue featuring Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition (2006), for those who have purchased perpetual access to the online version. The most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, EPM is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. It is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative — and incredibly fun to read. Oxford Music Online was created with the latest in online technology to give users a robust and unique research experience. Sophisticated search options allow users to refine their search or browse results by source and specific era or subject category. Users can also choose to view biographies or subject entries only. Advanced search options provide powerful tools for content navigation, including biography searching, bibliography searching, and the ability to easily search within longer, multi-section articles. Timelines and topical guides offer specific pathways into the content. Context-sensitive Help pages guide users through the site's features and functionality. Oxford Music Online offers the most extensive and easily searchable online music resource available, a virtual music library of unparalleled scope and depth.