Use ArticlesPlus to locate scholarly articles on your topic. You can search directly from this page, by changing the upper right search from "this guide" to "MLibrary ArticlesPlus." This database also includes current and historical newspaper content.
ArticlesPlus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content - without the ads!" From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results. Over 7,500 publishers are represented in ArticlesPlus, totaling over a half-billion articles from over 125,000 journals, newspapers and magazines. Also included are millions of entries from reference works, and works of all kinds from open access archives and institutional repositories. Note: Access to the ArticlesPlus index is open to all users; but access to the full text of articles through the MGet It buttons is generally restricted to current faculty, students, and staff of the University of Michigan.
Use this link to search among digitized historical newspapers only.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is a custom ProQuest cross-search providing full-text access to the complete backfiles of 20 U.S. and 31 international English-language newspapers from Canada, China, India, Ireland, Israel, and the United Kingdom, including: 10 major mainstream U.S. newspapers--Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Boston Globe (1872-1982), Chicago Tribune (1849-1990), Detroit Free Press (1831-1922), Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), New York Times (1851-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), and Washington Post (1877-1997) 6 major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2003), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) 4 major American Jewish Newspapers--The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1854-2000), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990). 5 major British and Irish newspapers--The Guardian (1821-2003), The Observer (1791-2003), The Scotsman (1817-1950), and the Irish Times (1859-2012) and Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958); 2 major Canadian newspapers--The Globe and Mail (1844-2010) and Toronto Star (1894-2012) 22 different English-language newspapers published in China included in the PQHN Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) a major newspaper of India--The Times of India (1838-2004) a major newspaper of Israel--Jerusalem Post (1932-2008). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
Finding Laws, Court Cases, and Congressional Activity
The Proquest Congressional collection includes transcripts of published and unpublished hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, committee prints, statutes at large, bills and resolutions, and more. Search by number or text to find relevant congressional activity.
ProQuest Congressional (previously called LexisNexis Congressional) indexes and abstracts Congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws. It includes the full text of Congressional reports and documents (1789-1969), Executive branch documents (1789-1939), bills and resolutions (1789-present), hearings (1824-), Congressional Record (1985-1997), CRS Reports (1916-present), Statutes at Large (1789-), bill text (1989-), the Serial Set (1789-), Federal Register (1980-) and the current U.S. Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.
A service of Congressional Quarterly, the CQ Almanac provides contextual summaries of major congressional activity, from 1946-present. Use to find legislative initiatives, successful passages of bills into laws, and "unfinished business."
CQ Almanac contains unbiased, objective and comprehensive summaries of all Capitol Hill activity from the previous congress.
Use this to find encyclopedia entries on all aspects of American immigration, from the colonial period through the present. Social, political, economic, legal, and demographic factors are represented. Each entry includes a bibliography to help you identify additional sources.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present, focusing on critical issues as well as the groups of people involved. Every major immigrant group and every era are fully documented and examined through detailed analysis of social, legal, political, economic, and demographic factors. Included as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Use this to find encyclopedia articles on all aspects of immigration to the U.S., with special emphasis on the West. All entries include bibliographies to help you identify additional sources.
The American West, a great and varied landmass, became home to successive waves of immigrants who, over ten thousand years, shaped it and were shaped by it. Questions of the relationship of the nation to its new arrivals have been posed and answered more than in any other places. The editors begin in these volumes to document the past and raise questions for the next generation of readers interested in the topic of the American West. Ed. by Gordon Morris Bakken and Alexandra Kindell.
CQ Researcher, a service of Congressional Quarterly, provides comprehensive reports on major topics in the news. Designed to help journalists understand all sides of an issue, the reports include statistics, editorial debates, chronologies, and bibliographies. Coverage goes back to 1923, so you can find historical treatment as well.
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Scroll down to Part 3: Documentation and select the "notes & bibliography" option. Then scroll down very far in the list of source types to get to "legal and public documents." There you will find example entries for court cases, including U.S. Supreme Court cases.
Provides searchable online access to the 16th (2010) and 15th (2003) editions of the standard style manual, as well as a downloadable facsimile of the first edition (1906). Also includes Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide, and Chicago Style Q&A (editors' answers to questions submitted by readers, updated monthly).