Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

EndNote Basic

Provides an introduction to a free, web-based version of the citation management software, EndNote, that is best used as a collaborative tool.

Importing from the Web of Science

It is easy to import citations to your EndNote Basic account from Thomas Rueter's (ISI) databases, such as Web of Science & BIOSIS.  After you've done your search in the database,

  • Select references to import
  • Click the Save to EndNote Online link above your results

  • Sign in to EndNote Online, if you haven't already
  • Select the format (we suggest Full Record OR full Record and Cited References)
  • Click Send.

Online Searching from EndNote Basic

You can search some free databases, such as PubMed, directly through EndNote Basic using the Online Search option. Although this saves you a few keystrokes, you also don't have access to the more advanced search tools the databases offer. We recommend using Online Search only for importing known references.

To search a database,

  • On the Collect tab, select Online Search.
  • Select the database you want to search from the drop-down menu
  • Click the Connect button.

  • Enter your search terms, using the dropdown menus to select appropriate fields & click Search.

To import the results:

  • Select results
  • Add to a group (including Unfiled)

Importing from Other Databases

When you search databases or library catalogs, you need to export your citations differently. There are 2 methods:  direct export & import filters.

For example, in CINAHL:

  • Select references you want to export by adding them to a folder.
  • In the folder, select them again.
  • Click the Export icon.
  • Select the Direct Export to EndNote Web option.
  • Click the Save button on the left to have your references imported.

PubMed requires import filters, so it's a slightly longer process.

In PubMed:

  • Select the references you wish to export.
  • Click the Send to link
  • Select Citation manager from the Destination list
  • Click Create File button.
  • Save the file to your desktop or anywhere that you will easily remember.

In EndNote Basic:

  • On the Collect tab, select Import References.
  • At File:, click the Choose File button & search for the file you saved.
  • From the Import Option menu, select the correct database. For PubMed, choose PubMed (NLM).
  • At To:, select the group that you want to place the references in.
  • Click the Import button.

Adding Citations Manually

You can manually enter citations for references that can't be electronically imported, such as book chapters or web sites.

  • From the Collect tab, select New Reference.
  • Select the reference type from the drop-down menu,
  • Enter enough information to create a citation (for example, chapter author, chapter title, book title, book authors/editors, date, publisher, page numbers).
  • Click the Save button.

Adding Citations