Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

NIH: Consensus Development Conference on Diagnosis and Management of Dental Caries Throughout Life: Background

NIH organized conference that produced consensus statements on important and controversial topics in medicine and dentistry.

NIH: CDC: Caries: Annotated Caries Filter


The following annotation describes most, but not all, of the possible terms which would be encompassed by the following search strategy. This annotation is intended to clarify the search strategy.


Caries Filter

1     exp Tooth demineralization/                                       22511

INCLUDES:
Dental Caries/
Dental Fissures/
Root Caries/

2     demineralization.mp.                                               1602
3     caries.mp.                                                        15173

COMMENT:
If truncated to "carie:".mp., it retrieves 15168. 

#3 INCLUDES:
dental caries
caries
missing due to caries
incipient caries
caries lesion
caries lesions
precavitated caries
early caries
advanced caries
caries in dentin
dentinal caries
recurrent caries

4     caires.mp.                                                            1
5     craies.mp.                                                            0
6     careis.mp.                                                            4

COMMENT #3-5: Misspellings of "caries".

7     "tooth cavit:".mp.                                                   33
8     "teeth cavit:".mp.                                                   42
9     "dental cavit:".mp.                                                6002

COMMENT:
I did not use "cavities" unmodified by anatomical area because of the huge 
quantities of irrelevant material it was retrieving. This was also true of 
the use of "Oral Cavity."

#7-9 INCLUDES:
dental cavities
dental cavity
dental cavit
tooth cavity
tooth cavities
teeth cavity
teeth cavities

10    "tooth decay:".mp.                                                  235
11    "teeth decay:".mp.                                                   11

#10-11 INCLUDES:
tooth decay
decayed teeth

COMMENT:
Does not include "decay" unmodified by anatomical area for the same reason as with "cavity". 

12    "active decay".mp.                                                    9
13    "white spots".mp.                                                   186
14    "enamel decay".mp.                                                    3
15    "rampant decay".mp.                                                   5
16    carious.mp.                                                        2060

#16 INCLUDES:
carious lesion
carious lesions
precavitated carious lesions

17    "non-cavitated lesion:".mp.                                           3
18    "noncavitated lesion:".mp.                                            1

#17-18 INCLUDES:
non-cavitated lesion
non-cavitated lesions
noncavitated lesion
non-cavitated lesions

19    "precavitat:".mp.                                                     6

#19 INCLUDES:
precavitated caries
precavitated carious lesions
precavitation
precavitated lesion
precavitated lesions
precavitated decay

20    Tooth remineralization/                                             469
21    "dental fissure:".mp.                                               283
22    "tooth fissure:".mp.                                                 12
23    "teeth fissure:".mp.                                                 10
24    "oral fissure:".mp.                                                   6

#21-24 INCLUDES:
dental fissure
dental fissures
tooth fissure
tooth fissures
teeth fissure
teeth fissures
oral fissure
oral fissures

25    "cariesfree".mp.                                                     17
26    "caries-free".mp.                                                   593
27    "cariogenic:".mp.                                                  1777

#27 INCLUDES:
cariogenic
cariogenics
cariogenicity

28    Cariogenic agents/                                                  728
29    "filled teeth".mp.                                                  261
30    "filled tooth".mp.                                                   59
31    dft.mp.                                                             406
32    dfs.mp.	                                                         1235
33    dmf:.mp.                                                           6340

INCLUDES:
dmf
DMF
dmft
DMFT
DMFS

34    1 or 2 or 3 or 4 or 5 or 6 or 7 or 8 or 9 or 10 or 11 or 12       35774
      or 13 or 14 or 15 or 16 or 17 or 18 or 19 or 20 or 21 or 22 
      or 23 or 24 or 25 or 26 or 27 or 28 or 29 or 30 or 31 or 32
      or 33