Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

COMM 271 Revolutions in Communication

Resources for communications students at UM, including how to find articles, how to find current and historical news sources, suggested online historical collections, how to access on-campus archives, and how use MLA style.

Selected Historical Collections

Ad Access Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

American Memory Project, Library of Congress Photographs from the American experience, from the Great Depression through World War II.

Chronicling America, Library of Congress A searchable database of a growing number of historical American newspapers from 1860-1922. It also includes information (but not full text) of American newspapers from 1690-present.

European Navigator Multimedia resources on European history. Includes videos, interviews, news clips and still photographs.

GenderAds Project Created by Scott A. Lukas of Lake Tahoe Community College, the website is dedicated to understanding the contexts of sexism and advertising, gender and advertising, women and advertising, men and advertising, advertising and violence...

Library of American Broadcasting (LAB) Hosted by the Univ of Maryland, a searchable database of radio materials. Click on the "Audio" link.u

Library of Congress National Jukebox Historical sound recordings, freely available from the Library of Congress 

Making of America A full-text digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. Currently contains over 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles on all topics.

National Museum of American History/Smithsonian Institution

Old Time Radio (OTR) Information about old radio programs, broadcasters, links to audio recordings, articles and a radio timeline.

Online Archive of California The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections are available.

Picturing U.S. History A digital project based on the belief that visual materials are vital to understanding the American past