Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

COMM 271 Revolutions in Communication

Resources for communications students at UM, including how to find articles, how to find current and historical news sources, suggested online historical collections, how to access on-campus archives, and how use MLA style.

Bentley Historical Library

Clements Library

The William L. Clements Library is a University of Michigan library that houses original resources for the study of American history and culture from the fifteenth through the nineteenth century.  The Clements Library collects primary source materials in all formats relating to early American history. Its collections of rare books, pamphlets, maps, prints, photographs, and manuscripts shed light on North American history from Columbus through the 19th century, offering researchers a wealth of unique resources. (from the website)

The Clements Library is located on the University of Michigan campus at 909 South University Avenue.

Contact: (734) 764-2347 or clements-reference@umich.edu.

The Janice Bluestein Longone Culinary Archive at Clements Library

The Longone Culinary Archive takes as its scope everything that influenced and influences America and everything that America influenced and influences in culinary matters. Added to this are related areas in American domestic and commercial life in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. Far more than just cookbooks, it contains a wide diversity of materials from the 16th to early 20th centuries - books, ephemera, menus, magazines, graphics, maps, manuscripts, diaries, letters, catalogues, advertisements, and reference works - and is increasingly recognized as a premier collection for the study of culinary Americana. It is augmented by the rich Americana holdings of the Clements Library, catalogued for their culinary and food-related content. (from the website)

Subject Guides:

For more information, contact the collection's curator, JJ Jacobson, at nonesuch@umich.edu

Special Collections Research Center

The Labadie Collection

The Labadie Collection of radical history in the United States documents social protest movements of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.  The collection is housed in Special Collections on the 7th Floor of Hatcher Graduate Library.