COMM 271 Revolutions in Communication: Finding Articles
Resources for communications students at UM, including how to find articles, how to find current and historical news sources, suggested online historical collections, how to access on-campus archives, and how use MLA style.
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Indexing with abstracts for 2,000+ journals and other materials relating to world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural, and intellectual history.
Indexing with abstracts for 2,000+ journals and other materials relating to world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural, and intellectual history. Coverage 1954- Companion to America: History and Life.
Major areas of coverage include: Artificial intelligence; Book reviews; Computer applications; Information centres; Information technology, Internet technology; Knowledge management; Librarianship; Libraries and archives; Library management, use and users; Medical information; Online information retrieval; Publishing and bookselling; Records management.
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Google Scholar (different from regular Google) may be especially helpful when searching an interdisciplinary subject area like communication studies. Be sure to log in using the link above - if off campus, you will be asked for your uniqname and password, and will then have access to UM-licensed full-text articles, if available.
Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses (Duke, Hawaii, Indiana, MIT, Penn State, etc.).
An index to over 14 million articles in more than 4,500 humanities and social science journals, from their first issues through 1995. Covers many older journals not indexed electronically anywhere else.
This annotated bibliography will lead you to books in various subjects related to communication technologies. Identify a book, then look up that title in Mirlyn (http://mirlyn.lib.umich.edu/) to find it here at U-M.
Indexes thousands of scholarly journals and books concerning linguistic and literary works in the broadest sense--including film and television, history of printing and publishing, and related cultural studies.
Access to International Index to Film Periodicals, International Index to Television Periodicals, International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections, and Treasures from the Film Archives, a bibliography of silent films worldwide. 1972-
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular.
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.