America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Biographies, timelines, background articles, photographs, and maps augment the curriculum-based coverage of historical events. Carefully selected primary documents, linking directly to the factual coverage, give the points of view on all sides of the debates as they were promulgated at the time.
Biographies of important, interesting, and representative historical figures. Descriptions of events, themes, organizations, places, and cultural developments in American history. More than 2,150 primary source documents. Timelines, Images & Videos, Maps & Charts
Combined access to four different online research tools created by the FIAF: 1) Index to Film Periodicals, covering more than 400,000 articles from 345 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 forward; 2) Treasures from Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world; 3) Documentation Collections, providing detailed information about the documentation collections of the world's foremost film archives, libraries, and educational institutions; and 4) FIAF Members' Publications, a listing of books, pamphlets, programs, and other materials published since 1966 by archives belonging to the FIAF.
Combined access to the American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog, Film Index International (FII), and the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals databases. Permits cross-searching of all three databases simultaneously, with results grouped under the name of the database they came from. The first few results from each database are displayed, with links that lead to the full set of results inside that database.
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is a custom ProQuest cross-search providing full-text access to the complete backfiles of 20 U.S. and 31 international English-language newspapers from Canada, China, India, Ireland, Israel, and the United Kingdom, including: 10 major mainstream U.S. newspapers--Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Boston Globe (1872-1982), Chicago Tribune (1849-1990), Detroit Free Press (1831-1922), Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), New York Times (1851-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), and Washington Post (1877-1997) 6 major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2003), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) 4 major American Jewish Newspapers--The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1854-2000), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990). 5 major British and Irish newspapers--The Guardian (1821-2003), The Observer (1791-2003), The Scotsman (1817-1950), and the Irish Times (1859-2012) and Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958); 2 major Canadian newspapers--The Globe and Mail (1844-2010) and Toronto Star (1894-2012) 22 different English-language newspapers published in China included in the PQHN Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) a major newspaper of India--The Times of India (1838-2004) a major newspaper of Israel--Jerusalem Post (1932-2008). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
Indexes articles from 240 periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada between 1890 and 1982, covering current events & news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, consumer affairs, etc.
Indexes articles from 240 periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada between 1890 and 1982, covering current events & news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, consumer affairs, etc. Provides separate access to just the back-file of the Readers Guide index.