Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Primary Sources Primer

Introduction to the nature of primary sources and how to find them at the University of Michigan, including resources on campus, external to campus, and online.

Maps, Data, and Government Documents at U-M

The Clark Library for Maps, Government Information, and Data Services, housed on the 2nd floor of Hatcher Graduate Library, has a rich collection of historic and modern maps.

Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has significant holdings in books, serials, manuscripts, posters, playbills, photographs, and original artwork. 

One of the highlights of the Special Collections Research Center is the Labadie Collection of radical history in the United States, which documents social protest movements of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Bentley Historical Library

The Bentley Library on the north campus ncludes both the official University of Michigan archives and materials related to the history of the state.

Collection Highlights Include:

Clements Library

The Clements Library on the central campus houses one of the nation's great collections for the study of the history of the Americas, beginning in the 15th century to the early 20th century, including European discovery, exploration, and colonization of America.  For an overview of the collections and to search for materials, go to the collections exploration page.

The Clements Library has significant holdings in the following areas: