Locating Materials and Collections:
Numerous special collections and archives exist in and for the State of Michigan, including:
Ann Arbor and Detroit Area:
State of Michigan:
Other cities and academic instutitions will also have collections of various depths pertaining to their own and local history. You can identify these through searching the website for the institution or by googling your topic and terms such as manuscripts, archives, special collections, etc.
General Guides to Archives
ArchiveGrid: Over 500,000 records describing archival collections around the world.
Archive Finder: A database of approximately 100,000 manuscript and other special collections at nearly 4,500 repositories in the U.S., U.K., and Ireland.
WorldCat: A database of catalog records from over 57,000 libraries worldwide.
A2A -- Access to Archives (UK): A2A allows you to search for documents in archives in England and Wales dating from the 8th century to the present.
Archives Hub: A database that searches archives held in libraries in England, Scotland, and Wales.
Archives Portal Europe: Provides information about archival collections throughout Europe.
National Register of Archives: The National Archives covers England, Wales, and the United Kingdom. The National Register of Archives contains information on British manuscripts and historical records.
Repositories of Primary Sources: A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources from all parts of the world.