Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Popular Culture

Provides resources for popular culture research at the University of Michigan.

What's Pop and What's Not?

Marilyn Monroe, by Andy Warhol 1964

Find more images like this at MLibrary


Research on popular culture can be challenging because of the interdisciplinary nature of the subject. This guide defines popular culture as mass-produced materials that are representative of aspects of mainstream culture, including movies, music, television shows, literature, comic books and video games.

Popular Culture Subject Specialists

U-M Library subject specialists are available to help you with everything from researching a citation to finding an obscure article. The following librarians can provide in-depth assistance with research questions in the listed area pertaining to popular culture. 

 

American Culture:  Alexa Pearce – alexap@umich.edu
Art & Design:  Jamie Vander Broek - jlausch@umich.edu
Art History:   Deirdre Spencer - deirdres@umich.edu
Comic Books & Graphic Novels:   Dave Carter – superman@umich.edu
Communication and Media StudiesShevon Desai - shevonad@umich.edu
Computer & Video Games:  Dave Carter – superman@umich.edu
Film & Video Studies:
  Philip Hallman – phallman@umich.edu
GLBTQ Studies:
  Meredith Kahn - mkahn@umich.edu
Multicultural Studies:
  Charles Ransom – ransomcg@umich.edu
Music & Theatre:
  Kristen Castellana – krismcc@umich.edu  and  Jason Imbesi - imbesij@umich.edu
Sociology:
  Hailey Mooney - haileym@umich.edu
Visual Resources:
  Rebecca Price – rpw@umich.edu