Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

COMM 102 Media Processes and Effects

Suggested resources for Comm 102 course on media processes and effects.

Why use library databases? (2 min)

General Databases

Search for articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals that cover a wide variety of topics

Education, Politics and Health Resources

Ageline

Indexes and abstracts books, journals, research reports, dissertations, consumer guides, book chapters, and educational videos in the field of aging and social gerontology. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons.

Contemporary Women's Issues

A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press focusing on issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.

CQ Political Reference Suite

Collection of over 30 political science reference books, including current and past issues. Includes political campaigns, polling information, information on the Presidency, and an encyclopedia of political science.

CQ Voting and Elections 

Resources on US Presidential, Congressional and gubernatorial elections

Education Abstracts

An index of journal articles covering a wide range of education topics.

Encyclopedia of Health Communication

Encyclopedia of Political Communication

ERIC

Indexes journal articles, government publications and unpublished materials such as conference papers, reports, theses and more, focusing on education-related topics.

Family and Society Studies Worldwide

"Family & Society Studies Worldwide covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. The quality and quantity of literature cited have been increased, and the scope is international including new areas of research and types of publications."

Political Science Complete

Search across 500 journals related to political science. 

PsycInfo

This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, and public health.

Scopus

Scopus is a popular abstract and citation database. Comparable to Google Scholar for breadth of topics and ease of use, Scopus searches nearly 18,000 peer-reviewed journals.

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)

International multidisciplinary journal literature index, with searchable author abstracts, covering a broad range of social science literature including anthropology, social work, public health, urban studies, law and more. Indexes 1700 journals spanning 50 disciplines.