Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Soc 497: Honors Colloquium in Sociology

Research guide for honors students in Sociology

Geospatial Data

  • Clark Library
    • Housed on the 2nd floor of Hatcher Graduate Library, has a rich collection of historic and modern maps. Additionally, facilitates access to electronic geospatial data.

Government Documents

Quantitative Data

Qualitative Data

Physical Archives @ UM

  • Bentley Historical Library
  • Special Collections Library
    • The Special Collections Library holds internationally renowned collections of books, manuscripts, and archival and other material. It is home to some of the most historically significant treasures at the University of Michigan and includes in its holdings some 275,000 published volumes, approximately 6,500 linear feet of archival material, about 450 incunables, and more than 1,400 early manuscripts on vellum and paper.
      • Labadie Collection: A collection documenting the history of social protest movements and marginalized political communities from the 19th century to the present
      • Transportation History: Rich in printed, archival, photographic, and graphic materials, the Transportation History Collections include thousands of volumes on railroad history, roads and automobile travel, bicycling, bridges, ballooning, canals, and steamships. 
  • Clements Library
    • Houses one of the nation's great collections for the study of the history of the Americas, beginning in the 15th century to the early 20th century, including European discovery, exploration, and colonization of America.

Library Digital Collections

In addition to  article databases like Sociological Abstracts for searching the secondary literature, the UM Library provides access to a number of full text digital collections databases with historical documents. You can browse all library databases by subject in Search Tools.  Some examples:

 

Related Guides

Primary Sources Primer
An introduction to the nature of primary sources and how to find them at the University of Michigan, including resources on campus, outside of UM, government sources, and digital collections.

Finding Archives and Manuscripts
This guide provides an overview of strategies for locating primary sources, including archival and manuscript material.

United States Government Information
This guide will help users find primary source information, documents, reports or publications produced by the legislative, executive and judicial branches of US federal government.

Qualitative Data
Helpful links about finding and analyzing qualitative data.

Finding Data
Strategies and resources for finding data across the social sciences, including opinion surveys.

Geospatial Data
Subject guide to finding and using geospatial data. Includes tutorials for using elevation data to make contours, and using aerial imagery layers to output imagery even more efficiently than Google Earth Pro can.