Library Databases
Library databases are specialized search tools used to identify journal articles and other scholarly sources (like book chapters and dissertations). Many databases have a specific scope of coverage that limit you to a particular universe of sources, like the scholarly literature of an academic field of study.
Getting the Full Text
In many cases, the full text or PDF of the article will be directly available in the library database. If you do not see the full text, then look for the "MGet It" link. This will open a new window and run an automated search of the U-M Library resources in order to connect you to the full text.
If MGet It is not able to connect you to the full text, you will be prompted to Ask A Librarian for assistance or to submit an interlibrary loan/document delivery request.
Databases for Psychology
***Always start with PsycInfo!***
- PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the top database devoted to the scholarly psychology literature, as well as related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. It is produced by the American Psychological Association and runs on the EBSCO database platform.
This database is designed specifically for psychology researchers and offers specialized search tools and filters that will help you narrow your search and focus in on your specific research topic.
Here is another popular option for psychology researchers specializing in areas that overlap with the health sciences (e.g., biopsychology, neuroscience):
- PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 27 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases will include articles from psychology, as well as other academic and research fields.
- U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new windowUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new windowSearches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCovering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines, the Web of Science Core Collection combines seven citation indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address.