Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

PSYCH 351: Advanced Lab in Developmental Psychology

Tools and techniques for finding information for Psychology 351

Web of Science

Web of Science


Web of Science searches the top scholarly journals in many disciplines.  It is a subscription database, so you need to search it through the library's site.  

 

Web of Science has many useful features:

  • You can search for articles that cite a known author or work
  • You can search by topic, then filter your results by topic, journal, year, or many other factors 
  • You can sort your results by relevance, date, or TIMES CITED - very useful for finding the most important or influential work on a subject.
  • Look for the MGetIt button which will bring you to the full text of the article (or a Mirlyn search for the print journal, or a request form for Interlibrary Loan).

NB: Web of Science searches the article title and sometimes the abstract; it does NOT have a specialized thesaurus like PsycINFO.  So, you may miss some articles if you only rely on WOS.

 

 

U-M Library Search - Articles

U-M Library Search

The U-M Library website search box offers results from the Catalog, Articles, Databases, Online Journals, and Library Website pages.

  • Go to the Articles section of U-M Library search to get results from scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
    • Filter your search to show "Articles from scholarly journals only"

The U-M Library Articles Search is multidisciplinary and casts a wide net across all journals and other resources within our library collections.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar


 

Never pay for an article you find online!!!  If you go to http://scholar.google.com from your personal computer, you will probably be asked to PAY for journal articles. Don't do it!  

 

Access Google Scholar via the library's link, then validate yourself as a UM student. Do your search and you'll see "Availability at UMichigan" links in the results that will bring you to the articles FOR FREE!

If you do not see the "Availability at UMichigan" link, double-check library holdings by entering the article citation into the MGet It Citation Linker.

 

Here's how the screen will look if you log in via the library:

 

 

Google Scholar vs. PsycINFO

  PsycINFO Google Scholar
Publisher APA Google
Subject coverage Psychology and related disciplines All subject areas
What it searches Custom records with indexing details (human indexers), some full text Web crawlers: publisher websites, full text
Source types Journal articles, Books, Encyclopedia articles, Dissertations Journal articles, Books, “Grey Literature”
Full text links Some direct full text, MGet It links Library links
Advanced search Robust Limited options