Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

History 202: Doing History

A research guide for students in History 202: Doing History, the gateway seminar for history concentrators.

International News Sources (in English)


You can find suggestions for learning about individual newspapers or magazines here.

FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports: Provides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996.

World News Connection: CIA-sponsored translations of local news sources from around the world, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc.

BBC Monitoring: BBC translations of international news wires and other news sources going back to 1979.

Universal Database of Russian Newspapers: Provides full text of over 40 of the major newspapers and serials published in Russia, the Soviet Union, or its successor states. Most titles are in Russian or English.

World Newspaper Archive: A digital collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from Africa (1800-1922), East Europe (1835-1922), Latin America and Latin America Series 2 (1805-1922) and South Asia (1864-1922).

Access World News [Newsbank] (1999-present): Full text of 260+ English-language newspapers from other countries worldwide.

ProQuest News and Current Events: (primarily 2000 to the present, but also includes some older content.) Includes both major and smaller English-language newspapers from around the world and across the U.S., as well as selected newspapers in Spanish, French, German, and other languages.

Individual Papers:

To find more... Go to advanced search in Mirlyn, type newspapers on one line as a subject, type the country or region on another line as a subject, select English for language, and then check the "available online" box at the top.

Times of India, 1838-2002

The North China Herald: (1850-1940) Digitized English-Language Shanghai newspaper.

The Times of London, 1785-2006

The Guardian and Observer, 1791-2003

The Irish Times, 1859-2008

The Scotsman, 1817-1950

Jerusalem Post, 1932-1988

The Nikkei Weekly [Tokyo] (1980-)

The Daily Yomiuri [Tokyo] (1989-)

The Korea Herald (1998-present)

The Korea Times (1998-present)

Useful full-text, archival Databases

Confidential Print: Africa 1834-1966: Digital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969: Digital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.

Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969: Digital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.

Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, 1846-1912: Digital archive of records documenting U.S. and British relations with a variety of Asian Nations. The collection contains U.S. State Department consular and diplomatic records; British Foreign Office political correspondance; missionary correspondance and journals; and socio-economic journals.

Empire Online: Over 60,000 images of original manscripts related to Empire Studies sourced from libraries and archives around the world.

Archives Unbound Collections:

   Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files

   Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation

   Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons, 1936-1945

   Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910

   Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño

   Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection

   Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993

   Witchcraft in Europe and America

   Liberation Movement in Africa and African America

Making of the Modern World: Digital and searchable editions of more than 62,000 titles that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth.

British Online Archives: A wide range of materials related to British history, including the colonization of America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia

Middle East Online: Series 1: Arab Israeli Relations, 1917-1970

Middle East Online: Series 2: Iraq, 1914-1974

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): Contains themed collections of over 80,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions.

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean: Contains over 1.3 million pages of primary source material from archives in the United States and Europe. The historical collections include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more.

Europe on East Asia: This HathiTrust collection, compiled by Brian Vivier, includes a broad range of books about East Asia by European authors.