If you need help with citations, please check out the Citation Help research guide. In it you will find links to resources that can help you cite your sources correctly and bibliographic tools to help manage your citations.
If you would like to find reviews for world music recordings or performances, please check out the Reviews research guide. In it you will find links to online resources for locating music, book, film, art and theatre reviews.
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples, the Garland Encyclopedia features thousands of articles, as well as images, audio and video.
The interface of the online encyclopedia might look familiar if you have used the Smithsonian Global Sound online resource. It features the same Google-style search box and similar browse functions. All 10 volumes of the encyclopedia are available online (see next box for call number of print version). Volumes 1-9 are organized by continent, with four volumes covering Asia and one each for the other continents. Volume 10 contains "general perspectives and reference tools," including bibliographies for general regions as well as specific nations.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. This release includes 1,210 essays and images from ten sources, as well as hundreds of audio examples. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Since its first publication in 1997, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music has been the pre-eminent reference work for research in ethnomusicology. It has won numerous awards, including the Dartmouth Medal, the New York Public Library Outstanding Reference Book award, and Library Journal's award as one of the 50 Reference Sources for the Millennium. Now for the first time, the entire set of 10 print volumes is available as a single, integrated online database, with additional features from Alexander Street Press.
The authoritative standard for English-language music dictionaries, covering all aspects of music, including biographies, definitions of terms, musical examples, lists of works, links to sounds, and more. Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, as well as The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2d ed, revised (2006) and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed (2006).
While not a specialized resource for world music, Oxford Music Online does contain entries on the folk music of various cultures and the field of ethnomusicology, and includes bibliographies.
Oxford Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Oxford Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Oxford Music Online is also pleased to continue featuring Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition (2006), for those who have purchased perpetual access to the online version. The most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, EPM is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. It is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative — and incredibly fun to read. Oxford Music Online was created with the latest in online technology to give users a robust and unique research experience. Sophisticated search options allow users to refine their search or browse results by source and specific era or subject category. Users can also choose to view biographies or subject entries only. Advanced search options provide powerful tools for content navigation, including biography searching, bibliography searching, and the ability to easily search within longer, multi-section articles. Timelines and topical guides offer specific pathways into the content. Context-sensitive Help pages guide users through the site's features and functionality. Oxford Music Online offers the most extensive and easily searchable online music resource available, a virtual music library of unparalleled scope and depth.