Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Jewish Visual Culture: Articles & Dissertations

History of Jewish Visual Culture from Ancient Mosaics to Jewish Hip Hop Videos.

Quick Links

Other Research Guides

MLibrary provides a wide array of helpful research guides. These may be of interest to you

Jewish Visual Culture

Useful Databases

Databases and indexes are the best places to find the articles you need. Databases and indexes are collections of articles that you can search by topic, subject, author, etc.  Once you have completed your search, look for the phrase "Availability at U-M" or the "MGet It" button in order to access the article.

The following links are for general databases and indexes. These databases and indexes can be searched for the specific topic you are looking for (Michelangelo, Picasso, Japanese sculpture, etc.).


Art History & General Databases

A comprehensive list of MLibrary's databases and indexes that relate to the humanities and more specifically art history can be found on Search Tools.

The following databases and indexes are a good place to start your research.

Finding Articles - Art History Journals

These journals are dedicated to the art history discipline. They inlcude articles related to a wide variety of art history subjects.

Interlibrary Loan

If you are unable to find the article you need through MLibrary try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan obtains items that are not available at the University of Michigan Library for the study and research of the University's patrons, including: books, dissertations, and microforms, copies of periodical articles or short sections of books.

Finding Dissertations

For information regarding access to dissertations please use the resource Acquiring U.S. Dissertations from the Library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

You may also want to visit the following sites:

Deirdre's Profile

Deirdre Spencer
Fine Arts Library

260 Tappan Hall

(734) 764-5405
Website / Blog Page

Fine Arts Library

 Fine Arts Library

260 Tappan Hall
855 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1357
734 764 5405 (p)