Search Mirlyn to find titles and locations of books, documents, microfilm and special collections materials at the UM Libraries. For journal articles, search one of the indexes to articles listed on this guide.
Video streaming of over 1000 documentary films previously distributed by Filmakers Library.
Filmakers Library Online provides over 1000 documentary films (over 800 hours), originally distributed by Filmakers Library. Films are on a variety of topics such as health, history, education, gender studies and psychology. MLibrary has Filmakers Library Online Volumes 1, Volume 2 and Volume 3. Each film has a transcript; many include filmmaker biography and notes. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
The PBS Video Collection contains a core group of 245 titles available for three years, with an assortment of 172 additional titles available on a temporary basis. Topics include history, science, health, technology, performing arts, psychology, anthropology, politics and literature. Features films from the series Frontline, American Experience, NOVA, Great Performances, America in Primetime, American Masters, e2, and Odyssey. Includes works by Ken Burns, Michael Wood, and other filmmakers.
Database of films and documentaries on current issues in the news
Current Affairs in Video features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical political issues of the day. From the AIDS crisis in Africa to the worldwide impact of European economic instability, the growing interconnectedness of our world has informed a set of global priorities. This collection, growing to more than 500 hours of content allows students and scholars to view global events and trends through an interdisciplinary, multi-regional lens with a focus on core areas such as environmental policy; health policy; human rights, international justice and terrorism; institutional corruption; migration and the global economy; poverty; religious tension and conflict. Includes films produced by the BBC, SW Pictures and Journeyman Pictures.
Kanopy Streaming offers over 9,000 documentary and feature films from an array of producers and distributors, accessible by unlimited users.
Kanopy Streaming offers a variety of documentary and feature films from an array of producers and distributors including BBC Active, California Newsreel, Checkerboard Films, Criterion Collection/Janus films, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Kino Lorber Edu, Media Education Foundation, National Film Board of Canada, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, and the DEFA Film Library's (East) German Film Collection. All videos work on PCs with Flash, iPads, iPhones, and mobile devices. To facilitate teaching, they can be projected in lecture halls, embedded in authenticated web pages, and watched off-campus (with login) with unlimited simultaneous viewers. Users can also create Playlists and make clips.