Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Funding Sources for School of Public Health Graduate Students

A targeted funding guide for graduate students in the public health field.

Database Tutorials

The University of Michigan subscribes to several third-party funding databases that allow our researchers to search for funding opportunities across the globe. To make your next funding search easier, we've compiled a list of helpful tips and tricks for using our most popular funding databases.

Still need help navigating the databases? Write us to request a consultation ( and we can help you customize your search. You can also check out the workshops offered across campus.


COS / Pivot Tutorials

Use COS / Pivot to conduct a comprehensive search of grant opportunities from a variety of global resources, and set up a customized weekly email alert tailored to your research interests to be notified of new funding opportunities. Get started with COS / Pivot by accessing the tutorials below.

SPIN Tutorials

Use the SPIN database to search for global funding opportunities from a variety of sources, setup customized funding alerts for your specific research interests, and export the results of your funding search for future use. SPIN offers a comprehensive set of training videos (see link below) to teach you about the database’s many features. 

Foundation Center Training

The Foundation Center offers detailed information about global funders, including funder priorities and geographic funding area. The Center provides a variety of training resources to advance your knowledge of the philanthropic sector and to acclimate you to the website.

Foundation Directory Online Training

The Foundation Directory Online (FDO) contains the funding and programmatic profiles of over 100,000 foundations and charities, and offers general overview tutorials as well as in-depth information about how to use the FDO in your next funding search.