Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Women's Studies 315 / English 315

Supports the research needs of students currently enrolled in Women and Literature: Women's Studies 315 (WS315) / English 315 (ENG315).

Ways to Find Databases

Quick link to the library's homepage


The library system subscribes to hundreds and hundreds of databases, so figuring out where to start your research can be somewhat overwhelming.

You can find the names of suggested databases on the tab in this research guide for "women & health databases". However, there are many ways to get access to databases without always having to come to the research guide.


Example #1: Find a Database by Name

One of the easiest ways to find a database is if you already know the name of the database you want to search.

For example, let's say you want to find the database, "Contemporary Womens' Issues". Follow these steps:

1. Go to the library's homepage.

2. Type the name of the database into the textbox inside the gold 'Search' box. (red arrow on image to the right)

3. Click on the button for 'Go'. (red arrow on image to the right)

Once you click on 'Go', you'll be taken to a page which will provide a list of databases with similar names. Your database should be listed first (indicated in second image to the right).


Example #2: Find Databases by Subject

If you don't already have the name of a database you'd like to search, and would like some suggestions, you can search for databases by the subject associated for your topic.

For example, let's say you want to find a list of all the databases the library has a subscription to which address women and gender studies. Follow these steps:

1. Go to the library's homepage.

2. Look at the links along the top of the page. Click on the link for 'Search Tools' (indicated by the red arrow).

3. Once you click on 'Search Tools', you'll be taken to a page where you can see options for how to find databases. Look on the left-hand side of the page, and under the catagory for 'Databases', you'll see an option to browse by subject (indicated by green arrow).

4. Once you click on 'browse by subject', you'll see a list of high-level subjects (indicated by red arrow).

5. Once you click on the appropriate high-level subject (in this case, databases for women and gender studies fall under 'social sciences'), click on the more specific subject (indicated by another red arrow).

6. You'll then see a list of databases associated with that subject. Then you'll be able to click on the name of the database you want to access (indicated by green arrow).


Example #1: Find a Database By Name

Follow the directions to the left for more information.

Example #2: Find Database by Subject