Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Cambridge Structural Database: Access-2016

A powerful and flexible resource to discover the knowledge contained within more than 500,000 crystal structures.

Access to Cambridge Structureal Database

Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a world wide repository of small molecule crystal structures hosted by Cambrdige Crystallographic Data Center (CCDC). University of Michigan has unlimited site license to access CSD. You may access the database via either of the following two means. 

1. WebCSD - the online portal to the CSD (Click here to access WebCSD)

                                                OR
2. Install Cambridge Structural Database System (CSDS) on your own computer.

Two Options to Download

  • Option 1: Request links to download the software at: http://www.ccdc.cam.ac.uk/csds_download .You will need our site number and confirmation code, and your uniquename@umich.edu email address. Once you submitted the request successfully, an email with the download links will be sent to you. (Be sure to check your Spam folder. ) Follow the links and instructions in the email to download and install the software appropriate to your operating system. Please contact liye@umich.edu if you encounter any error message.
     
  • Option 2: Follow links in the Table below to the Box folder containing the software. Click on "Continue" under "Log in: Part of University of Michigan", login with your unique name and UMICH password, and download the Cambridge Structural Database System 2016 Release for your operating system. 
     

Note: You will need the Site No. and Confirmation Code to register for the system after it is installed. Start Mercury or ConQuest or Mogul to do it.  Please read the release_install.pdf document you'd download the software for known troubleshooting during installation. 

The availability of the CSDS for different operating systems are explained in the box below.

The difference between WebCSD and the CSDS client access is explained in the tab WebCSD and CSDS.

Availability of CSDS for different operating systems

The Cambridge Structural Database System 2016 - Enterprise edition contains the CSD-System, CSD-Materials, CSD-Discovery. Individual components are listed below. Not all components are available for all operating systems.

 

Windows MacOSX Linux

Contens: ConQuest 1.18, Mercury 3.7, PreQuest, Mogul 1.8, IsoStar 2.2.3 client, Conformer Generator 1.0, Hermes 1.8, GOLD 5.4, SuperStar 2.1.3, DASH 3.3.5, Relibase, CSD Python API, and all database files

.zip and .exe files and instructions can be downloaded under https://umich.box.com/csds2016-win for Windows 7/8 and 10, Windows Vista, or Windows XP .

Contens: ConQuest 1.18, Mercury 3.7, Mogul 1.8, IsoStar 2.2.3 client, Conformer Generator 1.0, Hermes 1.8, GOLD 5.4, Relibase, CSD Python API, and all database files

.dmg files and instructions can be downloaded under https://umich.box.com/csds2016-mac for Mac OS X 10.8, 10.9, 10.10, and 10.11.

Contens: ConQuest 1.18, Mercury 3.7, PreQuest (32-bit only), Mogul 1.8, IsoStar 2.2.3 client, Conformer Generator 1.0, Hermes 1.8, GOLD 5.4, SuperStar 2.1.3, Relibase, CSD Python API, and server software (32-bit only) for Linux, and all database files.

Installation files can be downloaded under https://umich.box.com/csds2016-linux for Linux. (See the release_install.pdf for Linux system supported.)

 

Note:

For downloading from M+Box Folder 

  • Use IE 9 or later, the current version of Firefox or Google Chrome. Older browsers may NOT work.
  • These large files (some > 4G) may take between 15 min and several hours to download, depending on the speed of your Internet connection.
  • Following the links in the table above, click on "Continue" button under "Login: Part of University of Michigan" and log in with your unique name and password.

Updating to Mac OS X 10.10 can cause an existing XQuartz installation to become corrupted. For OS X 10.8 and later a suitable X11 server can be downloaded from http://xquartz.macosforge.org.

Find more troubleshooting tips on CCDC Supporting page here.

Library Contact

Ye Li
Contact:
3162 Shapiro Science Library

919 South University Avenue

Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1185

Phone: (734)615-5694
Website / Blog Page