- University of Michigan Library
- Research Guides
- Patient Safety, Quality Improvement, & Complex Systems
- Tools & Measurement Instruments
Patient Safety, Quality Improvement, & Complex Systems
Provides resources for students, clinicians, researchers, & administrators on patient safety, quality improvement, & complex healthcare systems.
Quality & Safety Measures
- Measures Inventory (CMS)Includes measures under development. From the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid.
- Measure Inventory (HHS)From the Department of Health & Human Services. Select a field, such as Topic or Condition, Care Setting, or Measure Domain, to generate a table of all measures at the intersection of those two fields.
- International Consortium for Health Outcomes Measurement (ICHOM)Provides measures for reporting patient outcomes in a standardized way.
- MARQUIS - Multi-Center Medication Reconciliation Quality Improvement Study ToolkitMedication reconciliation tools to reduce medication errors that frequently occur during care transitions & implementation manual.
- National Quality Measures ClearinghouseFrom AHRQ. No more measures will be added after 2016.
- Patient Reported Outcome Measurement Information System (PROMIS)Contains measures domains related to physical health, mental health, & social health for both adults & children. From the NIH.
- Patient Safety Measure Tools & Resources (AHRQ)Includes the new CANDOR Toolkit.
- Pharmacy Surveys on Safety Culture (AHRQ)Survey is designed specifically for community pharmacy staff.
- Surveys on Patient Safety Culture (AHRQ)Survey assessment tools for raising awareness about diagnosing, & assessing patient safety culture. There are separate surveys for Hospitals, Medical Offices, & Nursing Homes. Also includes comparable databases & resource lists.
New Tools
Measure Dx: A Resource To Identify, Analyze, and Learn From Diagnostic Safety Events.
It includes 4 sections that outline a series of steps to begin and sustain measurement of diagnostic safety.
- Part I outlines ways to engage people in the organization to ensure adequate resources to implement measurement and learning activities.
- Part II contains a self-assessment checklist to gauge readiness for implementation, as well as guidance for choosing a measurement strategy that fits with your organization's resources.
- Part III describes four different strategies (systematic approaches to measurement) based on different types of data sources.
- Part IV provides recommendations for systematically reviewing and analyzing case data and translating findings into useful insights for learning and improvement.