Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Environmental Education and Sustainability

Information on grant writing, grant seeking, finding scholarly articles on environmental and sustainability education, and APA style. Recommended for students in Environ 382 and NRE 581.

Nonprofit Directories

Looking for nonprofits in a particular region? Check these resources.

 

National Center for Charitable Statistics

provides basic information on financials,  programs, senior staff, and contacts for registered charities; includes 990s

Charity Navigator 

scores charities based on metrics that evaluate financial health, accountability and transparency;also provides details on revenue and expenses; includes 990s

IRS, Exempt Organization Select Check

indicates what portion of a contribution to a charitable organization is tax deductible


Michigan Resources for Nonprofit Support

Non-Profit Enterprise at Work (NEW)
NEW assists non-profit organizations in meeting needs and building support networks through the provision of resources, technology, and services in offices located in Ann Arbor and Detroit. They offer a variety of services, including technology consultations, fundraising workshops, and webinars on topics of interest to non-profit organizations.

Michigan Nonprofit Association
MNA provides member organizations with free news services, discounted email and telephone services, health insurance options, reduced costs for conferences and workshops, access to publications, networking opportunities, and multimedia and technology support.

Michigan Grantmakers
This Michigan State University compilation of Michigan grantmakers provides links to grant listings, as well as descriptions of various giving programs throughout the state. Relevant websites of community and corporate givers also are provided, in addition to linked information of top funding organizations in the state of Michigan.

Council of Michigan Foundations
Serving as a membership-based nonprofit organization, the CMF aims to build and support philanthropic activity in Michigan. Currently boasting over 350 organizational memberships, CMF provides member foundations with educational programs, networking opportunities, discounts on products, access to a lending library and a research librarian, philanthropic resources, current news and information, and advocacy representation in Washington, DC and Lansing, MI. A more complete listing of membership information and benefits can be found here.

A note about grant-seeking information

All information on this page is taken from the "Grants & Fundraising" Research Guide by Karen Downing.

For more information about grants, including grant funding sources, please visit: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/grants

Volunteer Resources

General Volunteer Resources

Volunteer Match
Volunteer Match is an ever-growing online network of nonprofit organizations and volunteers, and serves as a wellspring of information for nonprofit organizations looking for myriad types of volunteers. They offer resources specific to nonprofits, such as nonprofit partnership initiatives, information on building volunteer programs, and tips for online volunteer recruitment.

boardnetUSA
boardnetUSA is a free online matching service that pairs nonprofit organizations with potential board members, based on the needs of the organization and the interests of individuals seeking nonprofit board service.

Michigan Volunteer Resources

University of Michigan Board Fellowship Program
Through the University of Michigan's Nonprofit and Public Management Center, nonprofit organizations have the opportunity to become nonprofit partners, serving as mentors to Business, Public Policy, and Social Work students as they participate as non-voting board members for a year. Students attend meetings, serve on committees, and complete projects for their organization's board, while learning about the nonprofit sector and the particular issues faced by the nonprofit organization they are serving.

 

Foundations/Grants Services

Email us for help with:

  • Individual consultations to find potential grants or funders
  • Access to multiple grant databases
  • Assistance with research on foundations
  • Group instruction on using resources to find potential grant opportunites

 

  • Darlene Nichols - Social Sciences and Community Non-Profits, dpn@umich.edu
  • Paul Grochowski - Sciences and Engineering, grocho@umich.edu
  • Merle Rosenzweig - Health Sciences, oriley@umich.edu
  • Jason Imbesi - Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts, imbesij@umich.edu

Giving Circles

Giving circles are groups of individuals that provide philanthropic assistance pertaining to a particular area of interest or cause, through the pooling of resources. The link below allows you to search for giving circles in your state.