Research Guides: Environmental Education and Sustainability: Find Articles

Recommended Journals: Environmental Education

Environmental Education Article Indexes

ERIC: 1966- . Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a database of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Managment: Multidisciplinary database provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

GreenFile: freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

PsycInfo: citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material.

Multi-disciplinary Article Indexes

Library Articles Search: A product to search for articles and other content perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content -- without the ads". From a simple single search box, Library Articles Search finds full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.

Google Scholar (with UM MGet It links)

Scopus: a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

Web of Science: Multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with some coverage to 1900.

Dissertations and Theses Databases

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Indexing & authors' abstracts for most doctoral dissertations and some masters theses accepted each year in the United States and Canada (since 1861), plus thousands more from Great Britain and Ireland (since 1716), and selected other universities around the world (as far back as 1637). Includes full-text (in PDF) of most* dissertations submitted at University of Michigan and the 14 other CIC/Big Ten Universities since 1997.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
A union catalog containing over 8 million records describing dissertations, theses, and published material based on theses held by over 57,000 libraries worldwide (including most libraries in North America, and the national libraries of Australia and many Western European countries). Incorporates all records from the Research Libraries Group (RLG) Union Catalog (RLIN). Includes many titles from European countries not included in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.