Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Finding and Exploring Your Topic

This research guide will help you determine a reasonable topic for your paper.

Current News Periodicals

One method for coming up with a paper topic is to browse through some current news periodicals to see if you come across  any topics that pique your interest.  
   

Newsweek cover image

Newsweek  is a weekly newsmagazine that covers hot topics in politics, entertainment, fashion, business, and art.  
   

Time cover image

Time is a weekly news magazine that covers news of the U.S. and the world and also covers politics, business, money, health, science, and entertainment.  
   

Foreign Affairs cover image

America's News Magazines contains full text of three popular U.S. news magazines: Newsweek (1991- ), Foreign Affairs (1994- ), and the online-only web magazine Slate (1996- ), plus some backfile years of a few other magazines.  

Databases for General Brainstorming

CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. You can browse CQ Resercher by topic, track specific controversial topics by date or look up topics in their Pro/Con section. Pro/Con offers succinct articles by experts arguing for and against given topics.

 

Issues and Controversies offers accurate discussions of over 250 controversial topics in the news supplemented with chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, contact information, and bibliographies including primary source documents and news editorials. It has a subject index and a section featuring pro/con articles on a number of topics.

  

Full text of over 600 U.S. newspapers and over 260 English language newspapers from other countries worldwide.  Includes Detroit News (1999- ) and many other Michigan newspapers, Chicago Sun-Times, The Times (London), etc.  Includes text only--no photos, charts or ads.