Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Earth 315: Mineralogy

Finding Mineraology Database Lists

Practice Searches

  • X-ray diffraction
  • mineral identification techniques (broad)
  • interference figure for calcilte (narrow)
  • mineral properties
  • crystal system of calcite
  • Indonesia's plates and plate boundaries
  • Mariana Trench
  • Hawaii hot spot track
  • Tsunami of Dec 26 2004
  • India plate subduction and Himalayas
  • Japan tectonic zone
  • San Andreas Fault
  • Juan de Fuca plate
  • Los Angeles area faults and earthquakes
  • Colombia volcano(es)
  • Ring of fire

About GeoRef

GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 80,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

GeoRef editor/indexers regularly scan more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. They record the bibliographic data for each document and assign index terms to describe it. Each month between 4,000 and 7,000 new references are added to the database. Approximately 3,000 new records are added per update on a biweekly basis.

About Web of Science

Web of Science combines several citation indexes to make one generalist database: 

Arts and Humanities 1975-

Social Sciences 1900-

Science Citation Index 1900-

Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1990-

Book Citation Index 2005-

Emerging Sources Index 2015-

Practice Exercises (for GeoRef, Web of Science, and/or Google Scholar)

In Science Citation Index, try to find the article: 

Tunnicliffe V, Embley RW. Ring of Fire. Nature Geoscience. v.2(5). p. E6. May 2009

How did you search? How do you try to refine your search to improve your results?

Can you access the full text? What are your options if you cannot access the full text online?

What if you are asked to pay for an article that you need?

Finding Full Text with MGet It

Library Research Goals

  • Understand how to get more information about search results
  • Understand how to find thesaurus and search for controlled vocabulary
  • Understand how to connect to full text with MGet It and how to use alternatives when full text isn't available electronically.

Database Search Results (Examples)

GeoRef Search/Search Results Screenshot

GeoRef Article Record

Web of Science Search Page Screenshot

Web of Science Search Results

Web of Science Article Record