Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Comm 491 and 492: Senior Honors Seminar

Suggested resources for honors communication studies students. These are starting points for doing research related to mass media, journalism, social media, the news media, television, film, and others.

Related Guides

Access to full-text materials

Databases (Search subject-specific journals and other resources)

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Search more than 500 communications and mass media journals at the same time.

MLA International Bibliography

Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar (different from regular Google) may be especially helpful when searching an interdisciplinary subject area like communication studies. Be sure to log in using the link above - if off campus, you will be asked for your uniqname and password, and will then have access to UM-licensed full-text articles, if available.

ProQuest

Very broad, general database - encompasses ~100 smaller ProQuest databases. Good for interdisciplinary topics. Includes full text journals, historical newspapers and corporate reports, and specialized indexes for many different fields, including:  Arts, Business, Engineering, Health Sciences, History, Humanities, Literature & Language, News & Current Events, Science, Social Sciences, and Dissertations & Theses.

Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index)

A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines.  Very useful for following citations - see what other articles have cited a particular article.

Project Muse

Full-text access to hundreds of scholarly journals and full-text books in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

JSTOR

Articles from many different scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Not a good resource for very current topics - includes a moving wall for recent years of many journals.

WorldCat

A combined catalog of library catalogs worldwide. Over 1.2 billion citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more, representing the collections of most libraries in North America and many in Europe.

Studying the Media