Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Comm 350: The Rise of Mass Culture

Suggested resources that will be helpful for Derek Vaillant's class, Communication Studies 350. Topics include the media, history, society and culture, advertising, television, radio, etc.

Databases and Websites: American Cultural History

American Memory Project, Library of Congress Photographs from the American experience, from the Great Depression through World War II.

Computer History Museum - online exhibits

European Navigator Multimedia resources on European history. Includes videos, interviews, news clips and still photographs.

Library of American Broadcasting (LAB) Hosted by the Univ of Maryland, a searchable database of radio materials. Click on the "Audio" link.u

Making of America A full-text digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. Currently contains over 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles on all topics.

National Museum of American History/Smithsonian Institution

Old Time Radio (OTR) Information about old radio programs, broadcasters, links to audio recordings, articles and a radio timeline.

Online Archive of California The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections are available.


Advertising-related resources

Labadie Collection

A collection documenting the history of social protest movements and marginalized political communities from the 19th century to the present. Located in the Special Collections Research Center (Hatcher Library building, 6th floor). 

Online Magazine Archives

Search Mirlyn for the publication title to see if we have it, and in what format (print, microfilm, online, etc.).

Vogue, Billboard, Life, Women's Wear Daily