Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Comm 350: The Rise of Mass Culture

Suggested resources that will be helpful for Derek Vaillant's class, Communication Studies 350. Topics include the media, history, society and culture, advertising, television, radio, etc.

News Article Databases

ProQuest News and Current Events Includes both current AND historical news sources.  Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of several major U.S. newspapers. Older papers often include page images.

Alt-Press Watch Full text of over 200 alternative and independent-press newspapers, magazines and journals. 

Alternative Press Index Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left publications, which cover cultural, economic, political and social change.

Access World News (Newsbank) Newspaper articles from all over the United States and the world. Coverage varies, generally 1990s on. Does not include page images (no advertisements).

LexisNexis Academic News, business, trade magazines, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, and transcripts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, CNBC, CNN, Fox, NBC, NPR, and PBS.

Factiva This database offers company and industry financial data and news stories, as well as full text articles in 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines.

Readers' Guide Includes popular magazines going back to 1890, from more than 300 periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada, covering current events & news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, consumer affairs, etc.  Find popular magazines such as Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies' Home Journal, The Nation, Time, Newsweek, The Saturday Evening Post, and Readers' Digest.

Library Press Display Access to issues from the last 60 days of over 300 newspapers from around the world. The newspapers include the same content and are in the same format as the print edition of the newspaper. Some titles have "SmartNavigation" permitting individual articles to be printed out or heard in an audio version.

Didn't find what you need? Try the News Resources guide.

Video/TV sources