Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

History Honors Colloquium

Resources for students in UM's History Honors Colloquium: how to find background information on a topic, how to search the library catalog, how to locate primary and secondary sources in a variety of formats, and how to create and manage citations.

Maps, Data, and Government Documents at UM

Clements Library

The Clements Library on the Ann Arbor campus houses one of the nation's great collections for the study of the history of the Americas, beginning in the 15th century to the early 20th century, including European discovery, exploration, and colonization of America.  For an overview of the collections and to search for materials, go to the collections exploration page.

The Clements Library has significant holdings in the following areas:

Bentley Historical Library

The Janice Bluestein Longone Culinary Archive at Clements Library

The Clements Library on the Ann Arbor campus is home to the Janice Bluestein Longone Culinary Archive, a rich resource for studying the history of food and drink in America. The collection includes many cookery books, from as early as the 16th century. It also has much food-related ephemera: menus, promotional and souvenir cookbooks, and advertising material.

The holdings of the Clements Library, including the Longone Culinary Archive, can be searched through Mirlyn.

Subject Guides:

For more information, contact the collection's curator, JJ Jacobson, at nonesuch@umich.edu

Arab American National Museum

Located in Dearborn, the Arab American National Museum is the first museum dedicated to Arab American culture and history.  The museum's library collects material in all formats, including archival material. 

In addition, the library publishes useful bibliographies on the following topics:

Special Collections At UM Library

The Labadie Collection in UM's Special Collections

The Labadie Collection of radical history in the United States documents social protest movements of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.  The collection is housed in Special Collections on the 7th Floor of Hatcher Graduate Library.