Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

History Honors Colloquium

Resources for students in UM's History Honors Colloquium: how to find background information on a topic, how to search the library catalog, how to locate primary and secondary sources in a variety of formats, and how to create and manage citations.

Not seeing a database that matches your topic?


You can browse a list of databases by subject area by using the browse function at the library web page.  Using the drop-down menu, select the area that most closely matches your area of research.  Women's Studies, for example, is classified as a social science, whereas U.S. History is classified under Humanties.  Once you select your area of research, click "go," and you will see a list of recommended databases in that subject area.

Key Bibliographical Resources

Cross-Disciplinary Databases

Cross-Disciplinary Databases:

  • JSTOR: Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Note: The advantage to JStor is that it provides broad coverage of scholarly journals and full-text access; the disadvantage is that, for many of the journals in JStor, the most recent 2-4 years are not covered.

  • Project MUSE: Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
  • Library Articles Search: Access to over a half-billion articles from nearly 100,000 journals, newspapers and magazines.

Note: The advantage to Library Articles Search is that it is a single-search, cross-disciplinary database that has the broadest coverage of any database owned by U of M.  The disadvantage is that it is such a broad database that it can be difficult to find relevant results.

  • ProQuest Research Library: Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.  Provides full text for articles from over 3,600 of these journals and magazines.  Includes a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas extensively.