Skip to main content
University of Michigan Library
Search this Guide
Resources on finding and utilizing health statistics.
Specific Health Indicators
Injury, Crime & Violence
Statistics by Location
Table of Contents
County Health Rankings
An interactive application that lets you compare counties on numerous indicators.
Data & Maps (Southeast Michigan Council of Governments)
Data Driven Detroit
Accessible, high-quality information & analysis to drive informed decision-making.
Detroit Department of Health & Wellness Promotion
Genesee County Health Department Annual Reports
Ingham County Health Department - Data
Oakland County Health Division Information & Publications
Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends (SMART) from BRFSS (CDC)
State & Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey (CDC)
Washtenaw County Public Health Department
Health Improvement Plan
Wayne County Department of Public Health
Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI 2015)
An interactive web application that produces health profiles for all 3,143 counties in the US. From the CDC.
1135 E Catherine St
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation: Global Health Program
Data & Statistics (WHO)
eAtlas of Global Development (World Bank)
Europa World Plus
Online version of the Europa World Year Book & the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series.
European Health for All Database (WHO)
FAOSTAT (Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
Provides time-series & cross-sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries.
Global Alert & Response: Databases & Information Systems (WHO)
Global Health Data Exchange - GHDx (Institute for Health Metrics & Evaluation)
IHME's catalog of the world's health and demographic data.
Global Health Information & Resources (research guide)
Global Health Observatory (WHO)
Health Map: Global Disease Alert Map
International Database (U.S. Census)
Millennium Development Goals: Statistics
OECD iLibrary: Statistics
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) - Data
Search or browse by
(Health) and choose a
Pan American Health Organization Data & Statistics
Regional Core Health Data Initiative
(1995 - 2007).
U.S. AID - Demographic and Health Surveys - Data
To compare data across countries & time, see
U.S. Global Health Policy (Kaiser Family Foundation)
UK Economic & Social Data Service
Browse health topics by subject.
Search UN statistical databases from a single entry point.
World Bank Open Data
World Health Statistics Report (WHO)
World Population Data
Choose from indicators such as health & family planning on the interactive map, data visualization, & more. From the Population Reference Bureau.
America's Health Rankings (United Health Foundation)
Area Health Resources File (Health Resources & Services Administration)
Of particular interest are the Population and Economic Data by County.
Behavioral Risk Factors Surveillance System (BRFSS) (CDC)
Chronic Disease Prevention & Health Promotion: State Profiles (CDC)
Comparing Hospitals (Michigan Health & Hospital Association)
Data Set Directory of Social Determinants of Health at the Local Level (CDC)
Data Sources for Community Needs Assessment
FastStats: State & Territorial Data (CDC)
Health Risk Behaviors in the State of Michigan (MDCH)
Annual report from the Michigan Department of Community Health.
Health Statistics & Reports (Michigan Dept. of Health & Human Services)
Contains information on a wide range of health-related issues, from vital statistics to birth defects to the Michigan BRFSS.
Healthy Michigan 2010
Individual State Data (PHPartners)
Kids Count Data Center
Measures of child well-being by state, across states, & by congressional district. Visualize data by rank, map, & line graph.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly - Mortality Tables
Poverty in Michigan
Combines publicly available data from the U.S. Census, United Way, CDC Community Health Indicators, & Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Reports & Publications (Michigan Health & Hospital Association)
Reports & Surveys (Michigan Health Council)
State & Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey (CDC)
State Data: Trust for America's Health
State Estimates of Mental Health (SAMHSA)
State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC)
State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)
State Scorecard (The Commonwealth Fund)
Compare health performance indicators & locations & generate custom tables & charts.
Data & Statistics (CDC)
Covers a variety of diseases & conditions.
Data Warehouse (HRSA)
Information on US health care programs and the populations they serve. See also the
Data & Surveys (AHRQ)
Latest statistical portraits of how health care is delivered in the US.
Health, United States (CDC)
An annual report on trends in health statistics from the CDC.
An inventory of publicly available data sets and resources from various Dept. of Health & Human Resources vaults, including the CMS, CDC, FDA & NIH.
Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS)
From the National Cancer Institute.
Integrated Health Interview Series
A harmonized set of data & documentation based on material in the public use files of the National Health Interview Survey.
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
National Health & Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
National Health & Nutrition Examination (WebMIRS)
, a graphical Java program providing access to the NHANES II & III databases of medical survey data & x-ray images. From the CDC.
National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports (NHQRDRNet)
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (U.S. Census)
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, & economic organization of the US. Published 1878 - 2012.
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration
U.S. Census & Demographic Information (research guide)
WONDER (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research) (CDC)
See also the
Healthy People 2010 Database