Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Finding Archives and Manuscripts

Provides an overview of strategies for locating primary sources, including archival and manuscript material.

Maps, Data, and Government Documents at UM

The Clark Library for Maps, Government Information, and Data Services, housed on the 2nd floor of Hatcher Graduate Library, has a rich collection of historic and modern maps.

MLibrary's Special Collections

The Special Collections Research Center on the 6th Floor of the Hatcher Graduate Library has significant holdings in books, serials, manuscripts, posters, playbills, photographs, and original artwork.  An overview of the collections can be found here.

One of the highlights of the Special Collections Research Center is the Labadie Collection of radical history in the United States, which documents social protest movements of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Bentley Historical Library

The Bentley Library on North Campus includes both the official University of Michigan archives and materials related to the history of the state.

Collection Highlights Include:

Clements Library

The Clements Library on the Ann Arbor campus houses one of the nation's great collections for the study of the history of the Americas, beginning in the 15th century to the early 20th century, including European discovery, exploration, and colonization of America.  For an overview of the collections and to search for materials, go to the collections exploration page.

The Clements Library has significant holdings in the following areas: