Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

News Sources

Recommended resources and search tips for finding news in a variety of formats. Includes how to find international newspapers, historical newspapers, articles with a particular viewpoint, how to evaluate sources, and much more.

New York Times Index

Historical Index to the New York Times, 1851-1923. Available online.

Print - Graduate Library Reference AI 21 .N53. The last 35 years are in the Graduate Library Reference Room, older indexes are in the stacks on 1 North. This index covers 1913-present. Graduate Library stacks - AI21 N528 - covers 1851-1912.

Microfilm - Serials and Microforms - FILM 4159 The library has, 1851-1858, 1860, and 1863-1905.

London Times Index

Index to the Times 1790-1980. Brief citations to articles that appeared in The Times (London). Searchable by keyword in the title and/or in article main heading. Includes Palmer's Index to the Times (1790-1905) and the Official Index to the Times (1906-1980)

Print - The following print indexes to the London Times are all available in the Graduate Library stacks under the call number listed unless otherwise noted.

Times Index (1785-1789) Call number AI 21.T577

Palmer's Index to "The Times" newspaper (1790-1905) Call number AI 21 .T578

Annual Index to the Times (1906-1913) Call number AI21 .T579

The Official Index to the Times (1914-1957) Call number AI21.T58a

Index to the Times (1957-1973) Call number AI 21 .T58a

Times Index (1974-present) Call number AI 21 .T58b The Last 10 years are in the Reference Room on the second floor of the Graduate Library. Older indexes are in the stacks on 1 North.

CD-ROM - Palmer's Index to "The Times" newspaper (1790-1905), is available from Serials/Microforms Services, second floor of the Graduate Library under the call number CD-ROM GLX16

Times Index (1975-present) is available from Serials/Microforms Services, second floor of the Graduate Library under the call number CD-ROM GLX19

British Newspaper Archive

The University Library does not own a subscription to the British News Archive because it does not provide institutional access to its content. However, much of the full text is available through access to the Gale News Vault. Full text not available through this resource can often be accessed through Interlibrary Loan or through other resources. The British News Archive does serve as a valuable index that helps you find citations to articles that might be of interest. Once you have found a citation in British News Archive, check for the full text in Gale News Vault or ask a librarian for suggestions on how to get the articles that you need.

Le Monde

Print - "Le Monde. Index analytique" and "Le Monde. Index" 1944/1945-1950,1958,1965-1968,1978-2001 is available in the Reference Room on the second floor of the Graduate Library under the call number AI21 .M74.

Christian Science Monitor

Print - "Index of the Christian Science Monitor" 1945-2003 is available in the stacks of the Graduate Library under the call number AI21 .C55

Local newspapers

See the information under the Local News Sources tab.