Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

News Sources

Recommended resources and search tips for finding news in a variety of formats. Includes how to find international newspapers, historical newspapers, articles with a particular viewpoint, how to evaluate sources, and much more.

News for Particular Audiences

Many resources focus on news for particular audiences, such as:

  • Trade/industry/business news
  • Women's news
  • LGBT news
  • Environmental news
  • Ethnic publications

Use these databases when you want to explore a more focused perspective or find more specialized or audience-targeted information.

 

Trade/industry news sources

ABI/INFORM Dateline

Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications.

General BusinessFile ASAP

Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts and full text for over 2,900 business and trade publications. Includes directory listings for 200,000 public and private companies from Ward's Business Directory, as well as 50,000 investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries.

Bloomberg TV

Videos from Bloomberg on the latest news in various business related categories.

 

More business databases available here.

 

Women's news

Contemporary Women's Issues

A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press focusing on issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.

GenderWatch

A full text database of 140 international publications devoted to women's and gender issues, including scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings.

 

LGBT news

LGBT Life

Indexes 600 popular & scholarly publications (print & electronic) addressing the social, legal, economic, political, cultural, historical, literary, & health concerns of the Gay-Lesbian-Bisexual-Transgender community. Includes Sexual Diversity Studies. Excludes fiction & erotica.

Alt-Press Watch

A full text database of over 60 newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press, covering ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.

 

Environmental news

Environment & Energy Daily

Tracks legislative action on environmental, energy and natural resources issues. Covers Congressional appropriations, hearings, markups, bill introductions, floor actions, and more. Users can sign up for daily email alerts of important news stories.

Greenwire

Reports on national environmental, energy and natural resources issues as they are addressed by the White House, federal agencies, courts, states and major media across the country. Users can sign up for daily email alerts of important news stories.

Land Letter: The Natural Resources Weekly Report

Weekly in-depth newsletter focusing on the latest developments in regulation, litigation, legislation, and other action surrounding natural resources issues such as public lands, forests, recreation, endangered species, fisheries, timber, mining, and more.

Alt-Press Watch

A full text database of over 60 newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press, covering ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.

 

Ethnic publications

Ethnic NewsWatch

A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English.

Hispanic American Newspapers

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America’s Historical Newspapers.

Black Historical Newspapers

Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of six major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.

Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project

The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project is composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present). This project serves as both an online reference source and as a digitized historical documentation of the Jewish community of Pittsburgh and its outlying areas.

More databases here.