Recommended resources and search tips for finding news in a variety of formats. Includes how to find international newspapers, historical newspapers, articles with a particular viewpoint, how to evaluate sources, and much more.
Streaming access to over 300 videos from acclaimed PBS series. Features films from the series Frontline, American Experience, NOVA, Great Performances, America in Primetime, American Masters, e2, and Odyssey.
The PBS Video Collection contains a core group of 245 titles available for three years, with an assortment of 172 additional titles available on a temporary basis. Topics include history, science, health, technology, performing arts, psychology, anthropology, politics and literature. Features films from the series Frontline, American Experience, NOVA, Great Performances, America in Primetime, American Masters, e2, and Odyssey. Includes works by Ken Burns, Michael Wood, and other filmmakers.
NBC's Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum. Upon completion, the collection will Include every surviving program from the show’s inception in 1947 through the end of 2013.
NBC's Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum. Upon completion, the collection will Include every surviving program from the show’s inception in 1947 through the end of 2013, roughly 1,600 hours of programming. (Roughly 500 hours are no longer extant.) Notable programs include Jackie Robinson's appearance in 1957 to discuss Civil Rights and his NAACP involvement Fidel Castro's appearance in 1959 several appearances by Indira Gandhi Colin Powell's 2008 endorsement of Barack Obama for US president All programs can be watched in streaming format. The Meet the Press database is fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others in the U. of Michigan community.
View clips and search captions of U.S. news programs, going back to 2009, from a variety of television networks, including CNN, Univision, Telemundo, FOX, Al Jazeera America, BBC America, Comedy Central, Bloomberg, ABC, CBS, NBC and others.
News, business and trade magazines, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers; transcripts of news shows from ABC, CBS, CNBC, CNN, Fox, NBC, NPR, and PBS. Includes an archive of 60 Minutes transcripts.
Ohio University Library's guide to radio and TV news transcripts. Lists sources of transcripts for major broadcast and cable news networks. Many of the resources listed here are also licensed by UM. Search Mirlyn and Search Tools for specific resources.
(APTN) is the international television arm of The Associated Press, the world's oldest and largest newsgathering organisation." News transcripts are available through this site. Registration required for most services.
Indexes CIA translations of newswire and news broadcast services from around the world. The publications themselves are available on microfiche in the Graduate Library, MICRO-F X208 to X215. (For full text since 1996, see World News Connection.)
Sponsored by the University of Texas at Austin, Media & Communication in Latin America includes links to newspapers, magazines, photography, journals, radio and other news outlets for various countries in Latin America.
Online access to over 500,000 photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire. Includes all photos from US and abroad added in the previous 365 days (800 per day) plus many selected older photos from 1844 to the present. Updated continuously.
Electronic distributor of African news and information worldwide; over 1000 stories daily in English and French, as well as over 900,000 articles in our searchable archive (which includes the Africa News Service archive).
A bibliography of current periodicals of protest, controversy, advocacy, or dissent, with dispassionate content-summaries to guide librarians and other educators. Located in Hatcher Graduate Reference Room Z7165.U5 M96 1987
Covers 120+ journals with a leftist viewpoint concerning politics, economics, labor, ecology, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. 1982-
Press and electronic media in nearly 200 countries. Includes an overview of the background, economics and general press characteristics for each country. Also includes number and type of media, laws, censorship issues, electronic news media and more.
Popular online site where anyone can post video content, about anything. Potential resource for tv clips, news, popular culture, personal videos, politics, music videos, etc.
Library Access and Paywalls
Is the content you want behind a paywall?
Newspapers and magazines produce both print and web editions
The library subscribes to both editions, when possible, but web-only content is sometimes omitted from library access
Web-only content may include articles, blog posts, videos, and data visualizations
How do you check what kind of content we have?
Look for the title of the newspaper or magazine in Mirlyn, and check the "holdings" tab
When you link into online access via the library, check for a description of what's included - news aggregators like ProQuest and LexisNexis will provide dates of coverage and descriptions of online editions, in some cases.
What to do next?
If you're looking for a particular article or author, search in ArticlesPlus
Explore the limits of the paywall - are you allowed a certain number of articles for free? Some paywalls are deliberately porous and there may be other ways to get the content (for example, NYTimesMinusContext twitter feed)
There may be an educational discount for individual subscribers
For more detailed information about paywalls and library access, click the link below: