Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service that allows users to create personal citation databases, import references from online databases or text files, access your account online from any computer, and automatically format bibliographies.

Creating an Independent Bibliography (Reference List)

You can also create a bibliography from your references without them being associated with a particular Word Document. For example, you may need a reading list, or want to share your citations with others (like your dissertation committee).  This video provides an example of how to do so, and written instructions are below.

Written instructions:

  1. Click the Bibliography menu from the main RefWorks window
  2. Select the Output Style from the pulldown menu (APA, MLA, specific journal, etc.)
  3. In the Format a Bibliography from a List of References section, choose what type of file you would like from the File Type pulldown menu (HTML, Word, OpenOffice.org Writer etc.)
  4. Choose where the citations should come from in the References to Include radio buttons – note items in My List are only temporary during this specific RefWorks session (add items to My List by clicking on the Add to My List while viewing your list of references)
  5. Click Create Bibliography

Handouts

These handouts can further assist you in using RefWorks

Was this guide helpful to you?

Your comments will help us to improve the guides.  All submissions are anonymous.  If you would like a response, or to provide more information, please email knc-info@umich.edu

Was this guide helpful to you?
Very Helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Somewhat Helpful: 0 votes (0%)
A Little Helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Not Helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0