Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

North Campus Research Complex

This information guide provides resources and services to meet the needs of individuals and groups housed at the North Campus Research Complex (NCRC). View the guide and visit MLibrary@NCRC in Building 18, Room G018.

Return your library materials in MLibrary@NCRC's Drop Box

Use the MLibrary@NCRC "drop box" to return library materials back to the University Library. You'll find the drop box located near the entrance of the library in Building 18, Room G018. 
 
You can use the drop box to return books and audio/visual material borrowed from any U-M departmental library.
 
Please allow two business days for your item to be checked in and processed.  If your due date is in less than two business days, please return your materials to a central or north campus library  to avoid potential fines.

 

Systematic Review Guide

Whether you have experience writing a systematic review or are conducting one for the first time, you'll find resources here to walk you through the process. There's information that describes different types of literature reviews, helps with creating a search strategy--and more. We can partner with you on these projects. Contact:  mlibrary-ncrc@umich.edu.  Visit us: Building 18, Room G018, or call:  647-9937.  

 

Finding Research Funding Workshop

Interested in being more organized and efficient about identifying research funding? This workshop will show you techniques for searching funding databases and setting up alerts.

Date: November 17
Time: 10:00-11:00
Location: North Campus Research Complex, Building 16, Room B001E

Register Now


 
 

 

Note: Please bring your laptop for the hands-on portion of the class.

Let us Know What You Think: MLibrary@NCRC Annual Survey

To help MLibrary@NCRC create tailored resources and services to meet your information needs, please take our annual survey.

The survey will take under 10 minutes of your time.

You can submit your name to be eligible for one of three, $10 Starbuck gift certificates!

Start the survey now!

The survey will remain open until Friday, September 4.

E-book Collections

The library subscribes to many collections of books that you can read online! Click below to search through some of our health science collections. You can also access other e-books by searching the library's catalog.


Data Management Plan Assistance

The Data Management Plan resource portal will help you with all aspects of putting together your data management plan and meet NSF requirements.

For additional information, contact your NCRC Informationists: mlibrary-ncrc@umich.edu

Data Visualization Services

Global Health Resources

SciBX:Science-Business eXchange

SciENcv Webinar--July 30

NCBI is hosting a free webinar, on July 30 at 1pm, on using SciENcv to create your NIH biosketch.

NCBI's SciENcv is a platform for maintaining your record of research accomplishment in the form of a CV and automatically generating the NIH BioSketch, required for NIH grant applications. Through this webinar, you will learn how to use SciENcv to maintain your scientific record and generate the new NIH BioSketch.

Register for free:  https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7147698960003179522.

New NIH Biosketch Brownbag: June 2

Bring your lunch and come to a brownbag on the new NIH biosketch requirements. 

Date: Tuesday, June 2nd
Time: 12:00-1:00
Location: Building 10, ACR1

U.S. Health Spending Explorer

MLibrary@NCRC Orientation

Interested in knowing more about your library at NCRC?

Bring your lunch and come learn about the resources you have at your fingertips and the ways that we can partner with you!

We look forward to seeing you then.

Day: Tuesday, April 21
Time: 12:00-1:00
Location: Building 520, Room 1140

Mendeley Workshop for Managing Citations: February 17


Date: February 17
Time: 11:00-12:00
Room: NCRC Building 10, room G064

Come learn about Mendeley--a tool to help you manage your citations for publication or create collaborative groups. MLibrary has a trial of Mendeley Premium through March 31, 2015. Mendeley offers ease of sharing citations, and the premium version provides enhanced features, such as extra storage space and an unlimited number of groups for social networking and collaboration.

Want to learn more? Read the FAQ for trial information, check out the Mendeley Basics guide, or contact us for a personalized consultation: mlibrary-ncrc@umich.edu, phone: 647-9937, visit us: in Building 18, G018.

Overview of New NIH Biosketch

Overview of the New NIH Biosketch Workshop
Friday, 2/13, 9:00 am-10:30 am

The National Institutes of Health announced that a new NIH Biosketch format will be required for NIH and AHRQ grant applications. The new format is optional starting 1/25 and mandatory beginning 5/25. This workshop will provide an overview of the changes to the new format.

Location:
Taubman Learning Center, 2802 Medical Sciences Building 2
1137 Catherine Street, Medical Campus

Register now: http://ttc.iss.lsa.umich.edu/ttc/sessions/overview-of-the-new-nih-biosketch/

HealthMap Data Visualization Webinar

WHEN:  Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 1:30 PM ET

TOPIC:    HealthMap: Using Online, Real-time Surveillance to Identify Emerging Infectious Disease Outbreaks
Long before the 2014 Ebola outbreak was a topic on every front page and in every news outlet, HealthMap (http://healthmap.org/ebola) detected a trend showing a "mystery hemorrhagic fever" spreading in a small area in West Africa. Shortly afterwards, the World Health Organization announced the Ebola epidemic.  Developed in 2006, HealthMap delivers real-time intelligence on a broad range of emerging infectious diseases for a diverse audience including libraries, local health departments, governments, and international travelers. This tool brings together disparate data sources, including online news aggregators, eyewitness reports, expert-curated discussions and validated official reports, to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. HealthMap is a freely available as a Web site 'healthmap.org' and through the mobile app 'Outbreaks Near Me'.

PRESENTER:   John Brownstein, Ph.D., co-founder of HealthMap, is an Associate Professor at Harvard Medical School and directs the Computational Epidemiology Group at the Children's Hospital Informatics Program in Boston. He has been at the forefront of the development and application of public health surveillance. HealthMap is in use by over a million people a year including the CDC, WHO, DHS, DOD, HHS, and EU. Dr. Brownstein has advised the World Health Organization, Institute of Medicine, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and the White House on real-time public health surveillance.

LOGIN:   To join the meeting at 1:30 pm ET, Thursday, November 13, click on https://webmeeting.nih.gov/disinfo
Enter your name in the guest box and click "Enter Room".
A box should pop up asking for your phone number.
Enter your phone number and the system will call you.
For those who cannot use this call-back feature, the dial-in information is:
Dial-In:  1-888-757-2790
Pass-Code: 745907

Materials Sciences Presentation and Panel, November 3

Lessons Learned from the Safety Net Medical Home Initiative

Open Access Week Events: October 20-23

 

State of Health Equity Research

2014 Quality Survey

Let us know what you think! Take our annual survey so that we can learn more about what you want from your library at NCRC!


You'll also have a chance to win one of five MLibrary@NCRC water bottles.

The survey is open until Friday, September 26.


Take survey now

Trials to US Statistics Databases

We have trial access to two new sources for statistics: Sage Stats and CQ US Political Stats.  Both trials are available for the Ann Arbor, Flint and Dearborn campuses until September 17, 2014.

SAGE Stats is a data visualization and research platform that currently hosts two collections State Stats and Local Stats. State Stats is a collection of data measures that span all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Local Stats is a collection of data measures that span all counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas.  Dating back more than 20 years, each data series is displayed with detailed source information. Topics covered include the economy, education, crime, government finance, health, population, religion, social welfare, and transportation.
CQ US Political Stats is a separate platform that brings together data on the US Congress, the Supreme Court and the Presidency for comparison and visualizations. CQ US Political Stats contains data on a variety of topics such as Supreme Court outcomes and demographic data on members of Congress.  The data comes from a variety of sources including: CQ Roll Call, Vital Statistics on the Presidency, Supreme Court Compendium, America Votes, and CQ Alamanac.   


Please send any comments to Catherine Morse at cmorse@umich.edu

Finding Funding Opportunities Using COS Pivot

Pivot provides access to the most comprehensive source of funding opportunities. Using Pivot will allow you to connect with researcher expertise from within or outside of the University of Michigan. Pivot pinpoints funding opportunities with searches that are accurate, automated and focused. This workshop will get you started on utilizing Pivot to find funding opportunities targeted to your research area.

Date: Wednesday, August 6

Location:
Taubman Learning Center, 2802 Medical Sciences Building 2
1137 Catherine Street, Medical Campus (view map) pop up map

Session level: Beginner
Sponsor(s): Taubman Health Sciences Libraries
Presenter(s): Merle Rosenzweig

July 23 Workshop: Authorship and Copyright: Overview of your rights as an author

Authorship and Copyright: Overview of your rights as an author
Learn the fundamentals of how copyright impacts your authorship. Gain an overview of retaining your author's rights as well as concepts of open access and University policy.

Date:
Wednesday, July 23
Time:
12:00-1:00
Location:
NCRC, Building 10, G063
Presenter: Kristina Eden

Finding Tests & Measurement Instruments


New Pain Research Database

This new federal database will allow you to search over 1,200 research projects.

2013 National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports Published

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality published its annual reports on the nation’s healthcare quality and disparities. The full reports are available for download at AHRQ.

  

Lab Notebooks in the Digital Age: May 20th

Date & Time:   May 20, 2014 - 10:00am to 11:30am
Location:  Hatcher Graduate Library, Gallery (Room 100)  Location Information
Event Type:  Lecture

Christopher Faulk, U-M School of Public Health, talks about a long-neglected problem particular to academic labs — the proper archiving of lab notebooks and the data they contain. A panel discussion discussion will follow, with several bench scientists to answer questions and share examples of lab notebooks.

Faulk starts by defining what a lab notebook is, and discusses the legal issues surrounding them. What happens when personnel leave a lab? Who has access to lab notebooks? What are the best practices for maintaining a notebook? Lab notebooks are the result of millions of research dollars spent annually, yet there is no systematic process for archival storage.

New ideas in the transition to digital notebooks are presented, as well as the reasons why many of them are impractical for the working scientist.

Copyright Resources

The University Library offers many ways for you to get information about copyright. Use the guide below, or feel free to call our copyright office.

News Resources at Your Fingertips!

The library has subscriptions to many news resources that you can read full text. The resources below also allow you to create a more refined search than what you might find in Google News, and allow you to easily set up tailored search alerts. ProQuest News provides you with unlimited full text of the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.


 

Health Sciences Mobile Device Resources

Use the guide below to to find mobile resources for your lab, clinic, literature searching--and more!

Enhancing Your Research Impact

The guide below from the Becker Medical Library explains how: "Optimizing discoverability and access of your research is the surest way to enhance its visibility and impact."  Read through this brief resource for strategies for you to consider in your research.   You'll find tips for preparing your publication, and disseminating and tracking your research. 

 

 

New Resource: International Datasets

The Library recently started a subscription to ProQuest International Datasets. ProQuest International Datasets is a collection of public and private data sets from national governments, international organizations, and research firms.  A focus of this resource is sub-national data for the countries of the world (data by country, city, state or province). Country-level data is generally available going back 35 years and city-level data generally covers 15-20 years.

 
 
Country coverage is expected to grow.  Some of the current data providers include:
 
  • Brazil:  Institute of Geography and Statistics (IBGE)
  • Canada: Statistics Canada
  • China:  National Bureau of Statistics
  • Economist Intelligence Unit
  • Eurostat
  • Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
  • International Labour Organization
  • Ireland:  Central Statistics Office
  • Italy:  National Institute of Statistics
  • Oxford Economics
  • SIPRI
  • United Kingdom:  Office for National Statistics
  • UNESCO
  • UNICEF
  • UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
  • United Nations Statistics Division
  • U.S. Census Bureau
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • World Bank

New for 2014: Bioinformatics and Genomics Tutorials

The Library now has a subscription to OpenHelix, an excellent web-based resource that provides over 100 tutorial suites on the most powerful and popular bioinformatics and genomics databases and tools.  Each suite contains a video tutorial, downloadable slides and handouts, and exercises to help you learn how to effectively and efficiently use the resource.  Training materials and resources are searchable by keyword.   This resource can be used for teaching oneself how to use specific resources and/or to get ideas and materials for teaching others.   

To use OpenHelix, simply go to http://www.openhelix.com/

What are some of the resources that have tutorial suites in OpenHelix? A few examples are:

Allen Mouse Brain Atlas

BLAST

Cytoscape

DAVID

dbSNP

ENSEMBL

FlyBase

Galaxy

KEGG

UCSC Genome Browser

 

(Please note that the above list is just a small sampling of the resources that have tutorials available in OpenHelix).

Book Drop Hours--December 22-January 1

Happy Holidays, everyone!

MLibrary@NCRC will not be staffed Monday, December 22, 2013 through Wednesday, January 1, 2014.  Book drop services will not be available at NCRC during this time.  Books may be dropped off at the Shapiro Undergraduate Library during this period.

Taubman Health Sciences Library Services Open During Remodeling

As many of you already know, The Taubman Health Sciences Library (THL) will be undergoing major renovations.  Although the building  itself will close on December 23, all services, resources, and people will still be available.  

Here are some key things you may want to know about THL during the remodeling period:

  • Contact information: All library contact information--email and phone numbers--will remain the same.   

  • Building reopening:   The building is expected to reopen mid-2015.

  • E-books and Journals: Use www.mirlyn.lib.umich.edu

  • Physical Books and Journals: Use the GET THIS feature of MIRLYN to request delivery to a campus library or departmental mailbox.

If you have any questions or requests for library services, please do not hesitate to be in touch with your NCRC Informationists for additional information.

Phone: (734) 647-9937

e-mail: mlibrary-ncrc@umich.edu

 

Tools and Training for Organizing Your Information Resources

Looking to keep your resources organized? Want to automatically create reference lists? Contact us to discuss which tool could meet your needs. You can also look at our guide to citation management tools.

Health Reform Resources

If you are looking to keep current with developments in Health Care Reform, the research institutes below provide a great place to start:

Open Access Week: October 21-27

MLibrary is hosting a series of events that highlight projects, research, and policies at U-M that allow the public to access and reuse the results of scholarly research online. Be sure to look at the full schedule of events at U-M. 


Health Disparities Research Guide

If you are conducting research on health disparities in the United States, be sure to investigate the many resources available to you through the Health Disparities Research Guide.

MLibrary@NCRC Survey: Let us know What You Think!

To help us create and improve our services to meet your information needs, we have a brief survey that will take under ten minutes of your time. We appreciate your time and interest in helping us shape your library.

We are giving away three $10 gift certificates to Flavors! After you submit your survey, you'll be able to enter your name for the drawing. Your survey results are completely anonymous.

Click here to take the survey.

Thank you for your time! The survey closes on Friday, September 13.

Library Orientation: Tailored to Your Needs

Wondering what information resources and services are available to you at NCRC?  Looking to get started with your research? Your librarians can provide an overview of your library and information resources customized to your needs. 

Call (647-9937), write (mlibrary-ncrc@umich.edu) or stop by to see us in Building 18, G218. 

Health Sciences Grants Information Portal

This guide steers you to resources and tips to help you identify grants and assist you throughout the funding process. Use it to identify funding databases, understand post-processing resources, and stay current.

 

SciVal Experts Faculty Expertise Tool

Looking for collaborators across the health sciences and engineering?

Be sure to take a look at the newly expanded SciVal Experts and contact your librarians for individual or group training on its use: mlibrary-ncrc@umich.edu

Be sure to visit us in Building 18, Room G218.


 


 

Request a Training or Consultation Session

Did you know that your informationists at NCRC offers individual or group information trainings and consultations? Whether you want to learn about a particular tool or just want some help finding the information  you need, we are here to partner with you.

Visit us in Building 18, G018, write (mlibrary-ncrc@umich.edu), or call (647-9937).