Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

North Campus Research Complex

This information guide provides resources and services to meet the needs of individuals and groups housed at the North Campus Research Complex (NCRC). View the guide and visit MLibrary@NCRC in Building 18, Room G018.

Core Databases Across Disciplines

This list contains a small selection of core databases across disciplines to reflect the interdisciplinary nature of NCRC's work. For more extensive lists of resources, consult the other  MLibrary research guides.  Feel free to contact your librarian for assistance: Judy Smith, judsmith@umich.edu

Business
Chemistry
Communication
Engineering
Health Sciences
Psychology, Public Affairs, Sociology
Citation searching
Faculty Expertise
General Internet Searching

 


Business

Abi/Inform Complete
Featuring around 5000 journals, ABI/INFORM Complete™ is the most comprehensive business database on the market today. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers nearly 3,900 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.

EconLit
Index and abstract of journals and books, dissertations, and working papers for the field of economics.


Chemistry

Reaxys
Combined web access to Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database. Search by chemical structures or reactions to retrieve physical/chemical properties, spectra, related reactions, description of reactions as well as references to the literature in which the data appear. It also includes the synthesis planner tool.

Scifinder
Combined access to Chemical Abstracts CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT databases and Medline. Search by chemical structure or substructure, reaction, name, formula, etc. or natural language queries.


Communication

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides coverage of more than 500 journals in the communication and mass media fields, including full-text for more than 230 journals. Coverage for significant titles in the field goes back to their very first issue (as far back as 1915).


Communication Abstracts 
Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. *NEW* Now searchable together with CMMC, above.


Engineering

Engineering Index (Compendex) 
Engineering Index (Compendex) provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in over 5000 journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.

INSPEC 
Covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceedings papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. Includes indexing of material appearing in IEEE Xplore and SPIE Digital Library.


Health Sciences

CINAHL
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.

EBM Reviews/Cochrane
All EBM Reviews in UM-MEDSEARCH includes the full text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the ACP Journal Club. Also included are the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

ETHXWeb
Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.

GenETHX
Citations, some with abstracts or tables of contents, to literature on the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals.

Health Policy Reference Center
A comprehensive full-text database designed to support the creation, implementation, or study of health policy and the health care system. This collection offers full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to health policy, including: access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine.

Islamic Medical and Scientific Ethics
Citations, some with abstracts or tables of contents, to literature on on Islamic medical and scientific ethics. Database covers attitudes and practices on ethical issues within the Muslim world, from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals.

PubMed (With MGeit Links)
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 15 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.


Psychology, Public Affairs, Sociology

PAIS
Contains references to nearly 2 million journal articles and other resources on public affairs and public policy worldwide.

PsycInfo
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.

Social Science Abstracts
Covers 625 of the most important English-language journals across all the social sciences, including full text of articles from over 200 of them as far back as 1995.

Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.


Citation Searching

Scopus
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.   Searchable by cited-reference (forward citation searching).  Covers journals, patents, and websites (16,500+ titles) from 4,000+ publishers.

Web of Science Core Collection
Combines three citation indexes--Arts & Humanities, Science Expanded, and Social Sciences--which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 8,400+ journals.


Faculty Expertise

SciVal
A dashboard view of the PubMed publications and NIH grants of Univesitiy of Michigan Medical School faculty with primary appointments to clinical or research tracks. Researchers can identify potential collaborators by examining faculty expertise in a research area and by tracking grants and publications.

Scholar Universe
The largest available collection of searchable profiles covering active full-time faculty. Includes more than 2 million profiles of faculty in over 200 disciplines from 31 countries.


General Internet Searching

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources. Find articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.