Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

An introduction and guide to finding and using Sanborn fire insurance maps at UM and elsewhere.

Using This Index

Identifying Microfilm Reels

Look under Detroit, the date range, and - in the case of Detroit - volume number. Volume numbers are repeated within the Detroit reels under the different date ranges, so it is important to note the date range as well as the city and volume number.

Note: The hyphenated dates given represent the date of original edition and the date of hand updates (for instance, vol. 3, 1921-Nov. 1950, would represent a volume first issued in 1921 which has been hand updated through Nov. 1950).

If the years desired are not covered by this set, you may wish to check an external resource, or the second microfilm set (Grad Serials/Microforms Film 30088) listed on the Sanborn Maps on Microfilm page. This set includes Sanborn maps of Detroit covering the years 1966-1992 (reels 3-15). For more details, please see its contents at the beginning of reel 1.

The Notes Column

In the Notes column are the "500" and "000" series numbers that identify volumes acquired from the Bureau of the Census, additional place names cited by the publisher in map titles, and other distinctive features of the map. Variations from the standard size (65 x 55 cm.) are also noted in Notes. Editions issued in atlas format are described as bound.

Sanborn Microfilm Series Index: Detroit

The following index, which is derived from the Fire Insurance Plans in the Library of Congress: A Checklist, is useful for identifying Sanborn maps of Detroit found in the following microfilm set held by the Hatcher Graduate Library's Serials and Microforms Department

Sanborn Map Company.  Sanborn fire insurance maps, Michigan.  Teaneck, NJ: Chadwyck-Healey, 1983-1990.
Location: Grad Serials/Microforms Film 23325 (40 reels)
Coverage: 1883-1970
Notes: This microfilm collection contains all Sanborn maps of Michigan found in the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress. For the rest of the state, look under Michigan in Fire Insurance Plans in the Library of Congress: A Checklist (Map Library Z 6026 .I7 U541). To identify the microfilm reel needed, look under the city, date, and - if present - volume number. Volume numbers for a city can be repeated under the different date ranges, so it is important to note the date range as well as the city and volume number.

 

1884-1899

Vol. No./Date No. of Sheets Notes
Vol. 1, 1884 76 Bound
Vol. 2, 1884 76 Bound
Vol. 3, 1889 84 Bound

 

1897

Vol. No. No. of Sheets Notes
Vol. 1 113 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 2 107 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 3 114  Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 4 111 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 5 105 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 6 101 Includes key map to edition. Bound.

 

1904

No. of Sheets Notes
1 Central business district. 67 x 94 cm.

 

1910-1950

Vol. No./Date No. of Sheets Notes
Vol. 1, 1920 114 Includes map of congested districe and key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 2, 1921 115 Includes map of congested district and key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 3, 1921 117 Includes map of congested district and key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 4, 1922 120 Includes map of congested district and key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 5, 1910 110 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 5, 1923 103  Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 6, 1910 104  Includes key map to edition. Bound. 
Vol. 7, 1910  103  Includes key map to edition. Bound. 
Vol. 7, 1915  105  Includes key map to edition. Bound. 
Vol. 7a, 1915-1949; Republished 1950 53 Includes key map to edition and part of Hamtramck. Bound.
Vol. 8, 1915 108 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 9, 1915 95 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 9, 1925 99 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 10, 1915 101 Bound.
Vol. 11, 1916 91 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 11, 1929 104 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 12, 1924 99 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 13, 1924 110 Includes key map to edition. Includes River Rouge, Ecorse, Springwells, Lincoln Park and Ecorse Township. Bound.
Vol. 14, 1925 102 Includes key map to edition. Includes Highland Park. Bound.
Vol. 15, 1926 101 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 16, 1926 102 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 17, 1926 111 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 18, 1929 99 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 19, 1929 99 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 20, 1929 91 Includes Grosse Pointe, Grosse Pointe Farms, Grosse Point Park, Grosse Point Shores, Lochmoor, and Saint Clair Flats. Bound.
Vol. 21, 1930 84 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 22, 1933 83 Includes key map to edition. Bound.
Vol. 25, 1938 51 Includes key map to edition. Bound.

 

1910 - July 1951

Vol. No./Date No. of Sheets Notes
Vol. 1, 1921-Oct. 1950 115 006. Includes map of congested district. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 2, 1921-Nov. 1950 116 007. Includes map of congested district. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 3, 1921-Nov. 1950 118 008. Includes map of congested district. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 4, 1922-July. 1951 121 009. Includes map of congested district. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 5, 1923-Dec. 1950 104 010. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 6, 1910-Jan. 1951 116 011. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 7, 1915-Dec. 1949 90 012. Includes key map to edition. Includes part of Hamtramck
Vol. 7A, 1915-Jan. 1951 55 013. Includes key map to edition. Includes part of Hamtramck.
Vol. 8, 1915-Feb. 1951 109 014. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 9, 1925-Feb. 1950 100 015. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 10, 1915-Mar. 1951 115 016. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 11, 1929-Apr. 1949 105 017. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 12, 1924-Apr. 1950 100 018. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 13, 1924-Apr. 1950 79 019. Includes key map to edition. Includes River Rouge.
Vol. 13A, 1924-May 1950 50 052. Includes Allen Park, Ecorse, Lincoln Park, Melvindale. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 14, 1925-May 1950 103 020. Includes key map to edition. Includes Highland Park.
Vol. 15, 1926-July 1950 102 021. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 16, 1926-July 1950 103 022. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 17, 1926-Aug. 1950 111 023. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 17A, 1926-Sept. 1950 110 024. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 18, 1929-Aug. 1950 101 025. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 19, 1929-Sept. 1950 101 026. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 20, 1929-Sept. 1950 102 027. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 21, 1930-Oct. 1950 91 028. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 22, 1933-Jan. 1950 87 029. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 24, 1933-Feb. 1950 37 053. Includes Gratiot Township and part of Grosse Pointe Woods.
Vol. 25, 1938-Dec. 1950 50 030. Includes key map to edition.
Vol. 26, 1938-Dec. 1950 56 054. Includes key map to edition.

 

 

New & Additional Sheets

Date No. of Sheets
Nov. 1917 14
Jan. 1918 5
June 1918 1
July 1918 11
Jan. 1921 6
May 1921 9
Aug. 1922 5
Dec 1922 2
May 1923 1