Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Includes searchable full text of 7 newspapers: The Christian Recorder (1861–1902); The Colored American (1837–1841); Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863); Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829); The National Era (1847–1860); The North Star (1847–1851); Provincial Freeman (1854–1857) Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2003), Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), Washington Post (1877-1990), Christian Science Monitor (1908-1993), and Los Angeles Times (1881-1985).
Provides full text searchable access to historical newspapers from around the world. Includes gradually expanding digitized backfiles of 19th and 20th century newspapers from North America (currently 1,500+ titles), Latin America & the Caribbean (13), Sub-Saharan Africa (43), South Asia (7), and Eastern Europe (2). More titles are being added continuously. Eventually will also cover the Middle East, Southeast Asia, and Central Europe.
A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders.
Black Thought and Culture is an electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The collection includes the words of Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Paul Robeson, Booker T. Washington, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey, Sammy Davis, Jr., Ida B. Wells, Nikki Giovanni, Mary McLeod Bethune, Carl Rowan, Roy Wilkens, James Weldon Johnson, Audre Lorde, Thurgood Marshall, A. Philip Randolph, Constance Baker Motley, Walter F. White, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Ellison, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Jesse Jackson, Bobby Seale, Gwendolyn Brooks, Huey P. Newton, James Baldwin, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Randall Kennedy, Cornel West, Nelson George, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Bayard Rustin, and hundreds of other notable people.
Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Online access to over 500,000 photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire. Includes all photos from US and abroad added in the previous 365 days (800 per day) plus many selected historical photos from 1844 to the present.
As an image library for the Arts & Sciences, ARTstor Digital Library promotes and shares collections from hundreds of museums, artists, artists' estates, photographers, scholars, special collections, and photo archives.