Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Comm 445: Music & Identity

Suggested resources for Professor Derek Vaillant's Comm 445: Seminar in Media and Culture - Music and Identity

News Sources

Access World News (Newsbank) Newspaper articles from all over the United States and the world. Coverage varies, generally 1990s on.

LexisNexis Academic News, business, trade magazines, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, and transcripts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, CNBC, CNN, Fox, NBC, NPR, and PBS.

ProQuest News and Current Events Includes both current AND historical news sources.  Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of ten U.S. newspapers, including five major mainstream newspapers--the New York Times (1851-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-1990), Washington Post (1877-1991), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), and Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)--and five major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).

Readers' Guide Includes popular magazines going back to 1890, from more than 300 periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada, covering current events & news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, consumer affairs, etc.  Find popular magazines such as Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies' Home Journal, The Nation, Time, Newsweek, The Saturday Evening Post, and Readers' Digest.

 Vanderbilt Television News Archive The collection includes an index of nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN since 1995. Archive staff write brief segment summaries of each story within a regular news program, which are fully searchable. Display streaming video from CNN and NBC.

 


 

Alternative Press Index Guide to alternative press in North America. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

Ethnic NewsWatch A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English.

European Journalism Centre "The European Journalism Centre (EJC) is an independent, international, non-profit institute dedicated to the highest standards in journalism." Includes media landscape overview for each country in Europe, commentary and articles related to European media.

Foreign Broadcast Info Service (FBIS) Index Indexes CIA translations of newswire and news broadcast services from around the world. The publications themselves are available on microfiche in the Graduate Library, MICRO-F X208 to X215. (For full text since 1996, see World News Connection)

Library Press Display Access to issues from the last 60 days of over 300 newspapers from around the world. The newspapers include the same content and are in the same format as the print edition of the newspaper. Some titles have "SmartNavigation" permitting individual articles to be printed out or heard in an audio version.

World News Connection CIA-sponsored translations of local news sources from around the world, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc. Searchable by keyword, region of the world, and date. Content from 1995-2013. Provides the full-text in English.

Didn't find what you need? Try the News Resources guide.