Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Comm 445: Music & Identity

Suggested resources for Professor Derek Vaillant's Comm 445: Seminar in Media and Culture - Music and Identity

Music Databases

 **RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (CSA) RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (RILM), produced by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, is a comprehensive international guide to writings about music.

Music Periodicals Database Indexes over 375 scholarly and popular music periodicals from more than twenty countries, including feature music articles and obituaries from the Washington Post and the New York Times, with full text for recent articles from 42 of these periodicals.

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) Indexes articles in more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, from 1998 to the present. Covers a broad spectrum of the performing arts including dance, film, television, drama and theater. Retrospectively indexes 63 periodical titles as far back as 1864.

American Song: Provides streaming audio access to more than 50,000 audio tracks, including songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

Databases and Websites: History and Communications

 

America History and Life Citations and abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage is from 1954 to the present.

Communication and Mass Media Complete Search more than 500 communications and mass media journals at the same time.

Google Scholar Google Scholar (different from regular Google) may be especially helpful when searching an interdisciplinary subject area like communication studies. Be sure to log in using the link above - if off campus, you will be asked for your uniqname and password, and will then have access to UM-licensed full-text articles, if available.

JSTOR Articles from many different scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Project Muse Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses (Duke, Hawaii, Indiana, MIT, Penn State, etc.).

MLA International Bibliography Indexes thousands of scholarly journals and books concerning linguistic and literary works in the broadest sense--including film and television, and cultural studies related to them.

Historical Abstracts Indexing with abstracts for 2,000+ journals and other materials relating to world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural, and intellectual history. Coverage 1954- Companion to America: History and Life.

 Sociological Abstracts CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.


 

Ad Access Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

American Memory Project, Library of Congress Photographs from the American experience, from the Great Depression through World War II.

European Navigator Multimedia resources on European history. Includes videos, interviews, news clips and still photographs.

FIAF Film Archive Database Combined access to International Index to Film Periodicals, International Index to Television Periodicals, International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections, and Treasures from the Film Archives, a bibliography of silent films worldwide.

Film Literature Index Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
Worldwide Internet access to online version, which contains citations from 1976-2001 only. For 2002-present, use print version located in the Graduate Library Reference Reading Room (2nd floor) at call number: PN 1993 .F484

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (IESBS) Online version of the largest reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences.

Library of American Broadcasting (LAB) Hosted by the Univ of Maryland, a searchable database of radio materials. Click on the "Audio" link.u

Making of America A full-text digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. Currently contains over 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles on all topics.

National Museum of American History/Smithsonian Institution

Old Time Radio (OTR) Information about old radio programs, broadcasters, links to audio recordings, articles and a radio timeline.

Online Archive of California The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections are available.