Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Social Work: Global Practice: News/Journals

This course guide highlights sources of international data and information useful to social work students in the classes covering global practice. It is also meant to help social work students pursuing international field placements.

BBC World News Feed

Loading

More Current News Sources

Find News Articles

Searchable databases of news publications, available to the U-M community.

Find Journal Articles

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Onefile 
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from more than 8000 journals across many disciplines.

ISI Web of Knowledge
Indexes over 8,000 of the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

ProQuest Research Library 
Indexes over 3,800 jouranls and magazines covering many areas of study.


Other Databases of Interest

Africa-Wide Information (EBSCO)
Indexing for articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and television broadcasts

EconLit
Subject indexing nd abstracts of journals, books, dissertations and working papers. Regional and international economics are included.

Ethnic Newswatch
A full-text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide
A comprehensive resource of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology and development, and social welfare.

Gender Research Database (GReTA)
Searchable database of women's and gender studies scholarship, with bibliographic citations taken primarily from German sources and focusing on Germany from the 1980s to present.

GenderWatch
A full text database of 140 international publications devoted to women's and gender issues, including scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings. 

International Political Science Abstracts
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), provides abstracts of about 8,000 political science articles per year, published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide

PAIS International
Contains references to nearly 2 million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, etc. concerning public affairs and public policy worldwide.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.


Subject Guide

Darlene Nichols's picture
Darlene Nichols
Contact:
Hatcher Graduate Library
734-936-2362
Website / Blog Page