Research Guides: Sexual and Gender Minority Health: Health Professionals

Organizations

Gay Lesbian Medical Association (GLMA)
GLMA's mission is to ensure equality in health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and health care providers.
National Association of Lesbian and Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Addiction Professionals (NALGAP)
NALGAP is a membership organization founded in 1979 and dedicated to the prevention and treatment of alcoholism, substance abuse, and other addictions in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer communities.
National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals (NOGLSTP)
Organization for LGBT and ally scientific and technical professionals.

Related Journals Available through the University of Michigan

Culture, Health & Sexuality

The following are links to LGBT health-related journals available through the University of Michigan Library System.

Free Databases

LGBTData.com
Created by Dr. Randall Sell and maintained by the Program for LGBT Health at the Drexel University School of Public Health, GayData.org serves as a no-cost, open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation & gender identity data and measures.

Training Modules

Learning Modules on LGBT Health
From Fenway Health. Created to help facilitate the teaching of LGBT health topics to health professionals and students.

Online Resources

CDC: Gay & Bisexual Men's Health - Professional Resources
Key guidance, articles, reports, and health literature for professionals from CDC
Gender & Sexuality
Information and resources from the American Medical Students Association
Gender Identity Research & Education Society
Information for medical professionals
Healthy People 2020: Topics & Objectives: LGBT Health
Healthy People 2020 objectives offer specific, important areas of emphasis where action must be taken if the United States is to achieve better health by the year 2020. This is the first time that the federal government had made note of LGBT health disparities.
Learning Modules on LGBT Health
The Learning Modules on LGBT Health were created to help facilitate the teaching of LGBT health topics to health professionals and students.
LGBT White Coat Cards
From the American Medical Student Association
Sexuality & Health Lab at UM SPH
Find information on new studies and events, current and former projects, reports and articles, educational opportunities and resources about sexual health issues.
Transgender Health Program. Trans Care Project.
The project aimed to create training materials and practice guidelines for clinicians in BC who are already “trans-positive” but lack the clinical knowledge necessary to effectively work with the transgender community.
GLMA Resources for Providers and Researchers
Includes: Healthy People 2010 Companion Document, link to join the Provider Directory, Provider Guidelines for Creating a Welcoming Environment
LGBTData.com
GayData.org serves as a no-cost, open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation & gender identity data and measures. This site also provides knowledgeable analysis, commentary and expert "how to" information on gathering such data effectively in scientific surveys, questionnaires and studies.

University of Michigan Databases

These databases are available to UM-afilliates and to community members accessing the resources while on the University of Michigan Ann Arbor campus. If you have questions about using any of these resources please send you question to our "Ask A Librarian" service.

PubMed.gov (with MGetIt links)
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 15 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
GenderWatch
full text database of 140 international publications devoted to women's and gender issues, including scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1974-present
LGBTQ+ Source
Indexes 600 popular & scholarly publications which address the social, legal, economic, political, cultural, historical, literary, & health concerns of the Gay-Lesbian-Bisexual-Transgender community. Includes Sexual Diversity Studies. Coverage: Varies