Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Green Indigeneities: English 317/AmCult 301

A research guide for Susan Najita's Fall 2013 class.

Historical Resources

America: History and Lifeindex of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages

ProQuest Congressional (contains all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S.
Senate and House of Representatives)

American Indian History OnlineThis database provides access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. 320+ Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, maps and charts, and photographs. Updated semiannually.

Multidisciplinary

ArticlesPlus: The University Library has launched a beta version of a new product to search articles. ArticlesPlus has been described as "Google for the library's online content -- without the ads". From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.

 

 

Newspapers

Ethnic NewsWatchA full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English.

Library PressDisplay: A database that gives full-text online access to current domestic and international newspapers from the last 60 days.

ProQuest News and Current Events: Includes full text of thousands of newspapers, dozens of news wire services, and many news-oriented magazines and periodicals, from the past up to the present.  Includes both major and smaller English-language newspapers from around the world and across the U.S., as well as selected newspapers in Spanish, French, German, and other languages.

Alt-Press Watch: Full-text database of over 60 newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press, covering ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS):Provides CIA translations of newspaper articles in foreign language periodicals.

Access World News (Newsbank): Full text of over 600 US newspapers and over 260 English language newspapers from other countries worldwide. Includes New York Times (2000- ), Detroit Free Press (1982- ), Detroit News (1999- ), Chicago Tribune (1985- ), The Times (London), etc. 

Anthropology

Anthropology Plus: Comprehensive, international index to the literature of anthropology and archaeology.

Environmental Science

Environmental Sciences & Pollution ManagementA multidisciplinary database with abstracts and citations drawn from over 5980 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

GreenFile: Indexes and abstracts over 384,000 articles, books and government documents on global warming, environmental protection and renewable energy.

Greenwire: Reports on national environmental, energy and natural resources issues as they are addressed by the White House, federal agencies, courts, states and major media across the country.

Policy

PolicyArchive: An innovative, digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It makes use of the power, efficiency, and economy of modern Internet technology to collect and disseminate summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.”

PAIS (Public Affairs International Service): Contains references to nearly 2 million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, etc. concerning public affairs and public policy worldwide.

Business Databases

ABI/Inform Complete: Indexes 3,000+ business-related periodicals.

Where are conversations happening?

Where are the different conversations among stakeholders happening? For scholars, it might be a database that indexes scholarship in that discipline (i.e., America: History and Life for historians or GreenFile for environmental information). For activists, it might be blogs, news articles, community meeting spaces, websites, and spaces that don't produce literature (informal meetings, doctors visits, school assemblies). Sometimes you have to be creative to figure out how you are going to trace those conversations. We've included some starting points below, but you may want to talk to us in more detail about other strategies.