SW 522 - Basic Social Work Research

Updated monthly, this encyclopedia covers all aspects of social work. Topics include: demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, Affordable Care Act, evidence-based practice, gerontology, domestic violence in the LGBT community and social work related to trauma and disaster.

The Sage Glossary is the first attempt to deal with this issue comprehensively and to combine and compare terminology in nine separate social and behavioral science disciplines: communication, economics, education, geography, media studies, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. It also includes terms used in the methodology for social science research because these methods are integral to an understanding of all the disciplines included here.

Covers methodologies of case study research, exploring both their strengths and weaknesses from different paradigmatic approaches. The focus is on the distinctive characteristics of case study strategies and their place within and alongside other research strategies.

This encyclopedia brings together authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, both quantitative and qualitative. In addition to researchers and students, this encyclopedia will be helpful to college-educated readers who want to understand more about social science methodology.

This encyclopedia presents current and complete information, as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. Researchers and practitioners at all levels, and across disciplines, will benefit from this encyclopedia, as it defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research.

The purpose of the Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods (ESRM) is to provide detailed (although not exhaustive) information about each of the many methods that survey methodologists and survey statisticians deploy in order to conduct reliable and valid surveys.

Online version of the largest reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: anthropology, psychology, demography, economics, education, gender studies, law, linguistics,public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.